IGNORED

'Don't Use Your Hands!!'

Note: This thread is 4305 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I’ve been playing golf for 2 years now and despite regular lessons from qualified pro’s I have struggled to get any consistency in my game.

The first pro I went to always said that I ‘used my hands too much’ . His theory was that I should just do a full backswing then basically release the tension and follow through to the finish.

I found this to be too advanced a concept and was unable to incorporate it into my swing.

Rather than ‘release the tension’ I have a tendency to throw the club down the plane with my hands. This feels natural to me, and whilst it generates a lot of power I wonder if it is causing my lack of consistency?

Has anyone here been told that they ‘use their hands too much’? Is this a common error in beginner golf?

What is the established method of starting the downswing?

Thanks in advance.

Very common problem. You are not alone. Body parts above the waist must be passive. I liken the situation to a gear wheel with attached chains. The chains, arms, hold a dead weight, clubhead, and are propelled by the gear wheel,       the big muscles of the butt and legs. If you try to 'push' the chains-failure. Get hold of  oldish book by Percy Boomer, who IMO,  was the first pro golfer turned teacher who understood, demonstrated and taught all the correct motions and techniques of the modern 'golf swing'.  His first notion to understand is  that any attempt to 'hit the ball' is nonsense and you cannot improve your game until you quit that idea. Try ABEBOOKS.

• Administrator
Originally Posted by joekelly