Jump to content
Note: This thread is 3324 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Hi All,

My current wedge setup is PW, 50 and 53 degree.  I have a 56 and 60 on its way and am wondering if it would be best to take the 50 or 53 out of the bag.  I absolutely love my 53 degree but am afraid that puts a little too much of a gap between my PW (45degree) and my 53 degree GW.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Bruce

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by KCCO

Hi All,

My current wedge setup is PW, 50 and 53 degree.  I have a 56 and 60 on its way and am wondering if it would be best to take the 50 or 53 out of the bag.  I absolutely love my 53 degree but am afraid that puts a little too much of a gap between my PW (45degree) and my 53 degree GW.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Bruce

The difference between the 53 and the 56 will likely be less than 10 yards.  I'd drop the 53.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by xmanhockey7

I'd go 45, 50, 55, 60

I second that - I have a similar setup but I use 47, 50, 54, 60. My 54 has 12° bounce and my 60 has 6° bounce.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If the 45* PW is from your iron set, and the wedges are from a specialty model of wedges, you need to determine the distance gap + between the PW and the 50*.

+ See related thread on how shaft length influences distance between wedges: http://thesandtrap.com/t/59567/wedge-distance#post_728929

Next figure out the distance gap between the different wedges within the specialty model.

If the specialty wedges only have 1/4" length difference in shafts, this will reduce the yardage gap between the 50* and 56*.

If you can get fairly even distance gaps between the specialty wedges, it's not the end of the world if the PW and the GW fall 14 yards apart - as long as you know it.

With a little bending and shaft length tweaking, you might work your way toward 45, 49, 53 and 57. (again, see related post shown above)

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3324 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Yeah, it's definitely highly dependent on the situation. Based on my limited experience with how penalty areas are marked near cart paths, it's very rare to see the relief area be between the cart path and the penalty area. That's why I was skeptical but also hedged in my post. In any event, this is really an easy situation in competition. Have them play 2 balls and take some pictures of the area. Let the committee sort it out afterwards. That's easier than arguing about it and have that hanging over your head.
    • He's still in there to this day...  
    • The Relief Area must be in the General Area, but that doesn't apply to the area of stance and swing.  As an example, consider a cart path down the left side, with 2 feet of grass between the path and the Penalty Area.  A ball is on the left edge of the path, the NPCR is a few inches off the path towards the PA (for a right-handed player), and his resulting stance might be in the PA.  His area of stance and swing is free of interference by the cart path, even though he'd be standing in the Penalty Area to hit the shot.
    • I've mentioned my story as a "Range Rat" for a year before- Dad would go and play and he would leave me at the range to learn the game. It worked- the first round was a 98 (13yo). And beat him by 6. I think later on he was annoyed AND proud at the same time. I never shot over 100, and he never did beat me. 4 years later I could shoot par maybe once a month with those original Northwestern Chi Chi Rodriguez Blades (half set- 1,3,5W's, 3,5,7,9, putter) I started with.  That's how you learn to center it and play all those in between shots. Learn on a half set of butter knives.
    • The examples are of seemingly "trivial" (or "unfair") rules that players break and may not politely accept penalties for breaking. Asking, "how to protect the field without losing serenity?" 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...