Jump to content
IGNORED

2 Tee or not 2 Tee


Bad Golfer
 Share

Recommended Posts

You may tee up any ball played from your designated tee area, whether it is the first or third, between the markers, not forward of the markers and no more than two clubs behind.  When re-hitting from a designated drop area, you are only required to re-hit from anywhere in that area, not the exact same spot.  For example, if you hit just short of the green and the ball rolled back into the water, and you had teed back on your first tee shot, you could move forward and or right/left, as long as you remain in the teeing area boundaries.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by stangmark

You may tee up any ball played from your designated tee area, whether it is the first or third, between the markers, not forward of the markers and no more than two clubs behind.  When re-hitting from a designated drop area, you are only required to re-hit from anywhere in that area, not the exact same spot.  For example, if you hit just short of the green and the ball rolled back into the water, and you had teed back on your first tee shot, you could move forward and or right/left, as long as you remain in the teeing area boundaries.

You may not tee up your second or subsequent shots should your first not make it out of the teeing area (ie. you just manage to knock your ball off the tee but not advance it past the markers). However you're correct that if you're replaying a shot then you can tee it up.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • 8 years later...
11 hours ago, Tom Caetano said:

Really didn’t answer my question,Question was if I had to use the drop zone,can I tee up the ball???

NO.  A ball can only be teed up in the tee box and nowhere else

Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 2/2/2013 at 4:06 PM, Mordan said:

 

You may not tee up your second or subsequent shots should your first not make it out of the teeing area (ie. you just manage to knock your ball off the tee but not advance it past the markers). 

This rule (6.2) changed in 2019. 

 

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo after clicking this link. For Mevo+, click this link or the image above.
  • Posts

    • Funny enough I had a conversation about this very thing with my doctor on Wednesday.  He said the important thing is to get the recommended vaccination. And to get the booster. In terms of the exact dates... it's iffy in so much as everyone is different. The 6 months is literally just a guideline. 
    • I had kind of moved on from his stupid vaccine comments (and some of the other things he’s said too) until he reminded me by talking about it in this article. 
    • Question - I got my second shot the last week of February, but couldn't get boosted until the middle of November, is my level of protection lower than it would've been had I been able to get all my shots within the recommended 6 month window?
    • I would love to take an Aimpoint class. I would assume that this would be done on an actual green that has varying degrees of slope, or am I wrong?. Saturday or Sunday afternoon is fine. I can put that weekend on my calendar.
    • Not to belabor the point even further but I asked a local teaching pro I know. Instead of answering directly, he suggested emailing the USGA or the N.J. State Golf Association. He said either would respond quickly. So, I emailed both, and they both responded the very next day and agreed. To quote the USGA, "Since this is a net format of play, we would not recommend using a net value like net double bogey as a maximum hole score for the purposes of the competition. We would recommend setting a fixed gross maximum hole score value for the purposes of the competition, such as double-par, 10 strokes, etc., so it is consistent for all golfers where they can discontinue play." I'm now inclined to go with that, mainly because we won't have to do anything different than we did last year nor will we have to "alert the troops" which always raises a stink.    
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Darkfrog
      Darkfrog
      (44 years old)
    2. Jrock817
      Jrock817
      (41 years old)
    3. Leonclum
      Leonclum
      (49 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...