Jump to content
IGNORED

Molinari


Note: This thread is 3179 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I believe you Ray. Yes, who better than TW to carry the flag on the last hole? He may have misplaced some of his genius but he's lost none of his grit - on the contrary actually. And his putting confidence is much improved. .... holds up skull in dramatic gesture .... " Alas, poor Furyk! " ;-)
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Personally, I would have liked Molinari to have conceded his match in the middle of the 18th fairway. A 14-14 tie would have been fine. No one loses and the Europeans retain the cup. Playing that last

Well, that noted pundit, Tiger Woods, might have said it best - it's all about who wins the Cup.

I think that's a shallow take. If you watched him on the course this past weekend it was quite clear that he was very into these matches and wanted to as always play his very best. I don't see any ind

The idea that Tiger was pulling Stricker around that course is utterly hilarious. Go watch their first match - Woods didn't hit a decent shot on Friday morning until he go to the 16th. His driving put Stricker in so many terrible positions. Montgomery picked Woods absolutely correctly when he said he should have been pulled off the course after 9 holes.

One other thing - I'm pretty sure that Olazabla didn't want the draw. He wanted a win. He wanted to go back to Ballesteros's grave with the pot and say ''there ya go, beat them." Good on him - he had a mission, he achieved it.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Monte the Bear

The idea that Tiger was pulling Stricker around that course is utterly hilarious. Go watch their first match - Woods didn't hit a decent shot on Friday morning until he go to the 16th. His driving put Stricker in so many terrible positions. Montgomery picked Woods absolutely correctly when he said he should have been pulled off the course after 9 holes.

So the six and seven birdie runs by Tiger - while Stricker was contributing bubkus - mean nothing?

Tiger played well and was saddled with a lousy partner. That's what people I trust said.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hi all. Got to say I find this whole discussion just a little odd. The rules under which the Ryder Cup was played did not allow Molinari to concede in the fairway. He asked to, he wasn't able to. No, I don't think Olli would have let him anyway, in fact he told Molinari to play for a team win, but that's beside the point. The only thing they could do was concede a putt. Fast forward to the third shots of each player. Where's that Italian chap you're all ragging on? Where's Tiger? Within the rules Tiger could have conceded Molinari's putt, Molinari couldn't concede Tiger's chip. Not arguing right or wrong here, that's just the way it is. Molinari is now closer to the hole and Tiger has not yet putt. Tiger could have conceded Molinari's putt but chose to not do so. Again not criticising, just stating a fact. What I fail to get is people wringing their hands and saying why didn't he concede coz it didn't matter. If it didn't matter, guys, why in the blazes do you care if Molinari conceded the putt or not?!? He chose (or was told) to play for a Europe win. Fine. You don't care, remember? And Tiger played well? Exactly which Ryder Cup were you watching? Tiger did not play well, at least nothing like how well he can play. "Stroke play, he did ok." Hate to say it but it wasn't stroke play. He got beaten in every match bar his singles which he drew with a chap I actually like a lot, but a chap Tiger would have beaten 99 times out of a hundred. Tiger didn't bring his A game. I know that because his A game beats our guys most of the time.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

So the six and seven birdie runs by Tiger - while Stricker was contributing bubkus - mean nothing?

Tiger played well and was saddled with a lousy partner. That's what people I trust said.

So why did he apologise for his poor play in a press conference in Turkey yesterday?

Link to post
Share on other sites

So the six and seven birdie runs by Tiger - while Stricker was contributing bubkus - mean nothing? Tiger played well and was saddled with a lousy partner. That's what people I trust said.

What 6 and 7 birdie runs. Been through each of Tiger's cards, that just plain didn't happen. Tiger's first match was a foursome ie he made no birdies, his second he contributed 10 holes stricker 8 (ie his score counted 10 times as it was better than Stricker), next match Tiger 9, Stricker 9. At no time did Tiger have a 6 and 7 birdie run. Just plain didn't happen. Sorry, I think Tiger is a great player, I just hate it when people exaggerate everything he does. He didn't play that well, especially for him. Let's not pretend he did.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Nosevi

What 6 and 7 birdie runs. Been through each of Tiger's cards, that just plain didn't happen. Tiger's first match was a foursome ie he made no birdies, his second he contributed 10 holes stricker 8 (ie his score counted 10 times as it was better than Stricker), next match Tiger 9, Stricker 9. At no time did Tiger have a 6 and 7 birdie run. Just plain didn't happen.

Sorry, I think Tiger is a great player, I just hate it when people exaggerate everything he does. He didn't play that well, especially for him. Let's not pretend he did.

Wasn't Tiger -8 in the match against Colsaerts (-10)? That's probably what Erik meant. But having said that, Tiger was poor in the other matches he played and Stricker not much better.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Wasn't Tiger -8 in the match against Colsaerts (-10)? That's probably what Erik meant. But having said that, Tiger was poor in the other matches he played and Stricker not much better.

Not quite. Tiger scored 8 birdies (only 7 recorded), but his score was not counted on 8 occasions because Stricker out scored him. On 6 of those occasions Stricker only scored par so Tiger may have been par, may have been boggie or worse. Anyway, not to worry, just thought he played worse than normal by a fair margin.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Nosevi

What 6 and 7 birdie runs. Been through each of Tiger's cards, that just plain didn't happen. Tiger's first match was a foursome ie he made no birdies, his second he contributed 10 holes stricker 8 (ie his score counted 10 times as it was better than Stricker), next match Tiger 9, Stricker 9. At no time did Tiger have a 6 and 7 birdie run. Just plain didn't happen.

Sorry, I think Tiger is a great player, I just hate it when people exaggerate everything he does. He didn't play that well, especially for him. Let's not pretend he did.

Sorry, not runs. But I heard he made six and seven birdies (and five on the back nine in one of the matches) while Stricker could barely be counted on to par.

And Tiger's score not "counting" does not mean that Stricker "out-scored" him. More often it means they got the same score, but two pars is the same as one par, so it doesn't matter and the second player just picks up.

From everyone I've talked to they said Stricker played horribly and Tiger played okay to good.

And you can concede a hole or a match at any point in match play. There's no "rule of the Ryder Cup" which can prevent it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I really think you are letting Tiger off the hook.  To think he didn't want that putt - and to win that point - to force a draw?  Tiger Woods?  He didn't care?  :beer:

Agree. Not very credible IMO. He may have lost this and that but he hasn't lost any of his will-to-win.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, not runs. But I heard he made six and seven birdies (and five on the back nine in one of the matches) while Stricker could barely be counted on to par. And Tiger's score not "counting" does not mean that Stricker "out-scored" him. More often it means they got the same score, but two pars is the same as one par, so it doesn't matter and the second player just picks up. From everyone I've talked to they said Stricker played horribly and Tiger played okay to good. And you can concede a hole or a match at any point in match play. There's no "rule of the Ryder Cup" which can prevent it.

You are right about the 5 birdies on the back 9 one day, in fact Tiger played the back 9 better than the front pretty much the whole Cup but he was seriously out of position on several holes that he picked up on, didn't always match Stricker's score and Stricker had at least one boggie that were the counting score. What was more telling was that on the two 4 ball matches, Tiger was out played by Colsaerts on one and Donald (just) on another. In his Foursomes match he really didn't play too well. I'm not saying he was awful, just not up to his usual standard which is extremely high. He's the world number two and only scored a half point all Cup when playing against Molinari. That has to tell you something.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Only other thing was there was actually a rule about playing out all the matches. The captains had to decide it before the cup started and it's mentioned on several betting sites where they give odds on the outcome of both individual matches and the overall score. All about the money, these days, isn't it?
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3179 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Oh my God. I've never seen that before. That's actually kind of hilarious. 2 feet away. "Pick it up." ... 8 feet away. "Pick it up." ... Barely on the green. "Pick it up." ... On the teebox. "Pick it up."  I really think I would have said something. "Come on, guys. You cannot concede a putt to your playing partner."  Those guys must have some serious cojones to even try that. 
    • IMHO, a more appropriate question to ask is "Should Louis have aimed for a bunker on the right on the 17th hole?" It was nuts trying to even flirt with that hazard on the 17th hole.
    • WTF???  Where did my swing go? I could not hit a side of a barn today.  Nothing was working.  Wow!!!  I hope it was only a fluke and not start of a slump. Shot 98 (70.9/137, 6500 yds).
    • More drill work yesterday. The backswing is improving but still could be better, longer and a bit slower. I’m trying to be less out at A2 and have the same cup in my wrist at A4 I had at address. I’m exaggerating the height a bit to keep it high during a full swing. The next drill is trying to get the feel of landing soft on the left knee as it moves toward the target then snapping straight and pushing my left hip back to create speed. I’m doing okay here, but my hips could be more forward at A9 and I should keep the primary axis tilt a bit longer (staying down). The DTL view shows I’m steepening a bit during the pump too, so I need to be careful of that. The combo drill brings both together. But I notice that my left knee is not quite doing the same snap and my hands are starting to turn over even though it feels the same. Feel ain’t real. These will be my drills for a while.  
    • In these kind of situations, it is often the message from the top or lack of it that sets the tone. The head of the league, outing or other event needs to make it clear the rules are to be followed and if there are any conditions outside the ordinary. You'll always have cheaters, but failing to make expectations clear allows Joe Amateur to use his imagination.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. benharris
      benharris
      (29 years old)
    2. Erik Tedfelt
      Erik Tedfelt
      (26 years old)
    3. ForcedCarry21
      ForcedCarry21
      (30 years old)
    4. hlan
      hlan
      (36 years old)
    5. Hookman
      Hookman
      (29 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...