IGNORED

On-course superstitions

k-troop
Note: This thread is 4193 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Does anyone have these?

I never really thought about it until about 4 years ago.  I once heard Ernie Els say that every ball only has one birdie in it.  Anytime I birdie a hole, I always think about this.  Sometimes, I'll make 2 or 3 birdies with a ball, and then miss an easy opportunity.  Well, that ball is gone--I've used up all of the birdies.  (Actually, cursed balls are the only superstition that really creeps into my head when I play.  I'll frequently change balls when things aren't going well, sometimes put 3 different balls in play over a 4 hole stretch until I find one that wants to play.)

I also use a Sacajawea dollar as a ball mark.  I've been using the same one since 2001; I got it out of a stamp machine when I mailed something on the way to the course one day.  I shot lights out that day using that ball mark, and it's been in my bag since.  I've actually dropped it on the course 3 times, and each time I was able to recover it!!

Nearly every Tour pro has superstitions; most revolve around ball marks, how they mark their ball, or what number they play.  How about y'all?  Anyone willing to admit they're nuts?

Kevin

Titleist 910 D3 9.5* with ahina 72 X flex
Titleist 910F 13.5* with ahina 72 X flex
Adams Idea A12 Pro hybrid 18*; 23* with RIP S flex
Titleist 712 AP2 4-9 iron with KBS C-Taper, S+ flex
Titleist Vokey SM wedges 48*, 52*, 58*
Odyssey White Hot 2-ball mallet, center shaft, 34"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Every time I hit a green in regulation, I make sure not to get a birdie. It must be intentional, right?

• Upvote 1

In My Bag:

Adams Super LS 9.5˚ driver, Aldila Phenom NL 65TX
Adams Super LS 15˚ fairway, Kusala black 72x
Adams Super LS 18˚ fairway, Aldila Rip'd NV 75TX