Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
tuffluck

What exactly is a course handicap?

Note: This thread is 2917 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

12 posts / 953 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I feel like this is a dumb question, but course handicap means you can deduct strokes when you play, right? Every time I play I always calculate actual strokes taken vs strokes taken according to a course handicap. Can someone please explain to me how this works? For instance, I shot a 91 yesterday. The scorecard shows handicap recommendation of 5 from the gold tees I played, oops. Then it says rating/slope of 72.8/132. I don't really know what any of that means.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

course handicap is calculated using your handicap index.

the equation is hdcp x slope rating/113

yours would be 20x132/113 = 23 (you round to the nearest whole number)

you get 23 strokes on those tees. so you netted a 68

to be clear though..for handicap index purposes you would enter the score of 91..not your net.

course handicap only comes in to play when you're competing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

w[quote name="Stephen Newcomb" url="/t/63022/what-exactly-is-a-course-handicap#post_782581"]I would like to propose a follow up question. Can a person figure out an accurate handicap index only playing a par 3 or a 9 hole par 31 executive course? [/quote] There are some course minimum yardage requirements - search the usga or ghin sites for exact numbers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

so why do people adjust their scores by a stroke or two?  i just read this guy's comment from another thread:

"My previous round, on an easier course was 81 and my next round on the same course was 84 for handicap but I think I had a shot (or two) adjustment,"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by tuffluck

so why do people adjust their scores by a stroke or two?  i just read this guy's comment from another thread:

"My previous round, on an easier course was 81 and my next round on the same course was 84 for handicap but I think I had a shot (or two) adjustment,"

If your course handicap is under 10, you can only take a maximum of a double bogey on any hole. If your course handicap is 10-19, you can't take anything higher than a 7. If your course handicap is 20-29, you can't take anything higher than an 8. You have to adjust your per hole score accordingly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by phan52

If your course handicap is under 10, you can only take a maximum of a double bogey on any hole. If your course handicap is 10-19, you can't take anything higher than a 7. If your course handicap is 20-29, you can't take anything higher than an 8. You have to adjust your per hole score accordingly.

wow really?? that is very interesting to me.  so when people post "i shot a 95" do they generally adjust from a 98, or are they saying their adjusted score?  i feel like reducing strokes is cheating, sorry if this is a tough concept for me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wow really?? that is very interesting to me.  so when people post "i shot a 95" do they generally adjust from a 98, or are they saying their adjusted score?  i feel like reducing strokes is cheating, sorry if this is a tough concept for me!

Dont want to confuse you too much, but they still shot a 98 - the 95 is what is posted on the computer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by tuffluck

wow really?? that is very interesting to me.  so when people post "i shot a 95" do they generally adjust from a 98, or are they saying their adjusted score?  i feel like reducing strokes is cheating, sorry if this is a tough concept for me!

The adjusted score is ONLY for handicap posting purposes, nothing else.  The idea is to prevent ridiculous blow-up holes from raising your handicap too much.  But as far as what you shot for the day, it is what it is.

That said, there are vanity-cap type people (my dad is one of them) who never bother with their actual score.  He will give up or pick up on a hole once he gets to his max score (for him I think it's an 8) and he does it once or twice every round.  So his "score" is never accurate.  It's a good thing he never plays for money or in tournaments.

EDIT:  To answer your question ... when people post "I shot a 95" I would hope they are referring to their actual pre-adjusted score.  Because if they shot a 98, and it gets adjusted to 95 for posting ... they DID NOT "shoot" a 95.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by tuffluck

wow really?? that is very interesting to me.  so when people post "i shot a 95" do they generally adjust from a 98, or are they saying their adjusted score?  i feel like reducing strokes is cheating, sorry if this is a tough concept for me!

If you are in a tournament or a match, what you shot is what you shot. You only reduce your score for handicap purposes when you post it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wait a second...forgive me, but I am also pretty new to the whole handicapping thing.  Now that I have one, when I'm playing a round "for score" i.e. not a scramble or a round dedicated for "practice" like when breaking in a new driver/putter or if it's part of a bachelor party or something, I should be scoring nothing higher than a 7?  For example, let's just say I get some bad hops and shoot a 9 and 8 on two of the par 5s.  Does that mean if I took 89 shots to finish the round, I actually enter 86 as my "posted score" for HCP purposes?  This is assuming a 10-19 course handicap.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by dpgator33

wait a second...forgive me, but I am also pretty new to the whole handicapping thing.  Now that I have one, when I'm playing a round "for score" i.e. not a scramble or a round dedicated for "practice" like when breaking in a new driver/putter or if it's part of a bachelor party or something, I should be scoring nothing higher than a 7?  For example, let's just say I get some bad hops and shoot a 9 and 8 on two of the par 5s.  Does that mean if I took 89 shots to finish the round, I actually enter 86 as my "posted score" for HCP purposes?  This is assuming a 10-19 course handicap.


You've got it.  It is called Equitable Stroke Control (ESC for short).  There are other reasons to adjust scores (conceded strokes in match play, for instance).  They are contained in section 4 of the USGA Handicap manual.  Section 4-3 deals with ESC.  Here is a link:

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Handicap-System-Manual/Rule-04/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2917 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • A couple death shots from today's round. First one was death of my driver (shaft). The shaft snapped on a routine swing about an inch above the ferrule. Wasn't a chunk, or contact off the heel/hosel area, no idea what happened. Impact felt weird, and then the driver head was hanging a bit funny, and was still partially connected, but the shaft was clearly toast. Contacted Cobra customer service, and hopefully I can get a new shaft sorted out under warranty since the club is only ~6 months old. Second one was on #17. I hit my approach shot to the green which missed about a yard right, kicked right off a slope, and landed right behind an old stump with tall grass growing all around it. If it lands 2 feet right or left, it's a pretty easy pitch onto the green Perspective on the photo isn't great, but to go at the hole the ball would basically need to pop straight up, and the stump is obstructing any type of follow through. The only chance I had was to stub a wedge into the ground behind the ball and try to pop it up over the stump. Didn't work and the ball ricocheted back about 3-4 yards, where I put the next one on the green, and 2 putted for 6.
    • Hmm.. yeah. Well let's see what we get. 
    • Day 323 Played 18 today. Started off hitting the ball really well, and felt like I was going to have a solid day of ballstriking. Then the shaft of my driver snapped on the third hole on a routine shot, and I mentally checked out after that. At least I got a lot of good practice hitting 3W today.
    • Get’n those bad ones out early - it’s all about peaking at the right time 
    • As a 53 year former resident of Ohio and a graduate of THE Ohio State University, I would like to play next year if your rules allow.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Jakester23
      Jakester23
      (38 years old)
    2. Tennhacker
      Tennhacker
      (46 years old)
    3. wthomas21
      wthomas21
      (33 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...