IGNORED

Help needed. Got new fitted G20 irons and i cant hit them ! Shanking.

brian72gb
Note: This thread is 3332 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Been a long time lurker on these great forums but never felt the need to post. Except for now.

Ive been playing golf for 10 years+. I play off a 16 handicap which was going down. I have used a set of Calaway irons for the past 9 years.The grips were on the way out so i thought Id purchase some new irons.

Went to a pro shop which happened to be a PING authorized fitter with a n flight computer. I tried a few demos (K, G, I) and a Calaway and liked the G20.

Booked a fitting for the G20 which concluded i am a yellow dot. During the fitting, I hit fades, pulls and finally straight, however this was only with the 7 iron. My normal bad shot is a fade or a pull.

SO when the clubs arrived i went to the driving range.

I hit a couple of nice shots with the higher irons, then to my horror, i shanked one, then another then another. I carried shanking about 75 percent of the shots . Shanking is NEVER something i have suffered with before. So i decided to go home and try to forget the experience (very difficult) and went back 2 days later. Guess what. The shanks were still there, The higher irons were not too bad but i couldn't hit 4,  5 or 6 iron for the life of me. The ball just span off low and right.

So i am wondering if anyone thinks, have i been fitted incorrectly ? Could the lie angle (1.5 deg upright ) be causing a shank ? Or have i just bought the wrong clubs ?

Any help appreciated, Ive gone back to my calaways until i get this sorted.

Cheers

The skanks can occur with any irons or line of irons.

It could be you are anxious.