IGNORED

questions for iacas about instruction

divot dave
Note: This thread is 4139 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

preface: the following was intended to be a private message for Iacas but I decided to post in a public forum so that others might benefit from whatever discussion may ensue:

Hey Erik, I was doing a search the other day on the site regarding golf instructors. I came across some old threads you started on the topic. In particular this one: http://thesandtrap.com/t/22339/instructor-dilemma-stack-and-tilt-style-guy

I was surprised to learn that you were 100% self taught at the time and had coached yourself down to a 1.8 handicap. I was also a little surprised that you were so skeptical of stack and tilt. Then I happened up on this thread that you started just a few months later where you seem completely sold on the s&t; methodology.

What was it that turned your skepticism around so quickly and caused you to embrace it? What is your present commitment to teaching S&T;? Also, seeing as how you were self taught for the most part, would you recommend that someone like myself (less than 1 year experience) attempt to go the self taught route with S&T; or take lessons?  I'm a little weary of the idea of forking over hundreds of dollars to an S&T; instructor who may (or may not) only understand the method well enough to hurt someone (so-to-speak).

Presently I've taken a few lessons from both a "certified" teaching pro as well as from a guy who seems more like a "home grown" pro, neither of them teach S&T.; while they both have offered helpful instruction, I don't get the sense that they really understand "why" they are instructing me to do what they say. Presently, I'm a little less than ambitious about going back as I'm not confident I want to commit to their style of teaching.