IGNORED

Grip pressure?

Blitz28179
Note: This thread is 4121 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

For the next 2-3 weeks I am gonna focus on good golf grip pressure.Not just the way I hold the club but the pressure I apply to the club when coming down to impact.Ive had a few playing partners say I grip the club to tight.

I wonder if that is the reason why tour players and lower handicaps all use the interlock/overlap grips?Less fingers on club = means less pressure you put on the club, right?

Is it also why the majority of golfers use a golf glove?seems this would help you grip the club a little less.Since I started playing a year and half ago ive never used a golf glove.I think I might reconsider if i knew it would help me grip the club a little lighter.

Would love to hear some feedback as I am still a 19 handicap.

• Administrator

Professional golfers grip the club far more firmly than most people can imagine.

They also have strong hands. 3/10 to them is like 9/10 to most average golfers.

The trick is simply to have a firm grip but not to let that muscle tension go above your wrists (or even, really, to your wrists). Strong grip, soft forearms and wrists.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades