Jump to content
IGNORED

lost ball??


Note: This thread is 5052 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Alright, I have been trying to play a hundred percent honest, not that I wasn't before but I am still learning some of the fine rules. If you hit a ball of the tee and shank it, you have to lay up again and tee off right? rather than placing the ball where it went in the woods? Do you also do this with normal shots ie water or woods? if it lands near or on cart path what do you do? thanks

Also I play with guys that take a mulligan on the front and back nine, even if I dribble the ball like a school girl I still hit it, Lastly, this is real embarrassing, but if I put one on another green, I have to move it laterally and then take a stroke right?

One other thing, if I go out kinda just to practice, and hit around, should I still be posting all my scores, like the other day I had to skip a 2 holes come back and play them bc there was a womens foursome that was a pain in the @$$, and I was all goofed up from walking everywhere and playing out of my routine? I appreciate all the info guys
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
If you hit a ball of the tee and shank it, you have to lay up again and tee off right?

If you lose the ball, it's a "stroke and distance" penalty, yes. If you can find it, go play it.

rather than placing the ball where it went in the woods?

Woods not marked OB are good areas to lose balls, which has the same penalty (stroke and distance) as OB.

Do you also do this with normal shots ie water or woods?

With water, you can drop within two clublengths of where the ball last crossed the hazard line, anywhere on that point back away from the hole on a straight line, and if it's red, within two clublengths on the other side of the hazard.

Woods, again = lost ball.
if it lands near or on cart path what do you do? thanks

If your stance or swing is interfered with by a cart path, you get a free drop within one clublength of the nearest point of relief. It doesn't matter if it lands near or on the path, just where it comes to rest.

Lastly, this is real embarrassing, but if I put one on another green, I have to move it laterally and then take a stroke right?

No. You drop it at the nearest point (the fringe or the rough beside the green - please drop it in the rough to avoid taking a divot from the fringe) of relief (i.e. not on the green) and it's a free drop.

One other thing, if I go out kinda just to practice, and hit around, should I still be posting all my scores, like the other day I had to skip a 2 holes come back and play them bc there was a womens foursome that was a pain in the @$$, and I was all goofed up from walking everywhere and playing out of my routine? I appreciate all the info guys

You should decide before you play if you're going to play for a score or just drop balls, not putt out, chip around, hit three tee shots when you want, etc. (i.e. use the course as a practice ground). If the former, post your score. If the latter, don't post because you've not got a score you can really post. Not a legit one anyway.

Decide before you hit your first tee shot. Don't make four triple bogeys and then decide to practice instead. Post the bad scores too or your handicap is fake.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No. You drop it at the nearest point (the fringe or the rough beside the green - please drop it in the rough to avoid taking a divot from the fringe) of relief (i.e. not on the green) and it's a free drop.

Hmm, interesting. I messed this up recently, to the detriment of my score. In the spirit of playing it as it lies, I just knocked the ball off green with my hybrid being careful not to mark the green, and played it from there counting the stroke. Live and learn.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Also I play with guys that take a mulligan on the front and back nine, even if I dribble the ball like a school girl I still hit it,

Good man. The guys you play with are actually the little school girls for taking mulligans. That's just my opinion though.

They also shouldn't be posting those scores for handicap reasons either.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Good man. The guys you play with are actually the little school girls for taking mulligans. That's just my opinion though.

If it's not a serious round I sometimes take a breakfast ball. Otherwise I'm liable to send the rest of my game into a tailspin, because of a bad first shot.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 5052 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Day 75.  More wall drill, plus I set up to a ball with my 6-iron (on a mat, but I didn't downswing and hit the ball at any point).  I set up, took the backswing, incorporating what I was getting out of the wall drill.  The thing I really noticed when I got to the top is that my club isn't as far over-extended (seriously, some of those face-on videos looked like I was trying to be John Daly). 
    • Hard to think of a more perfect iron shot from the rough. I guess you could ask to hole out but that seems a little greedy. Brave to even try the shot then it sounds like. Glad you were rewarded!
    • Some of DiMarco's missed putts were pretty timid efforts so that is why I described it as giving them away. He can say he misread them and that is true for some but others really were just poorly struck. It is not to say DiMarco handed the green jacket to Tiger on a silver platter but Tiger was very fortunate that DiMarco did not really capitalize on the chances he was giving himself. That said I agree it does not really take away from the case for Tiger's greatness. The post iacas linked to came off rather biased in tone so I more pointed this out to acknowledge that every Tiger victory was not a controlled cruise either. I think it just goes to show that winning a major is extremely difficult and even the greatest need some bounces to go their way sometimes. It is like that with many sports when played at such an elite level.
    • I played Richter Park a few weeks ago for the first time. It was nice, though not something I desire to drive two hours for. Playing Links at Union Vale again in a few weeks; that is a course that I don't mind the drive for. We could look at other central CT courses. Wintonbury Hills is really nice. I'm playing Gillette Ridge tomorrow, which is supposed to be similar. 
    • Jack's courses always seem to be like you have to always be calculating and many risk/reward decisions. It's harder to relax on his courses, imo.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. ChappyEight
      ChappyEight
      (40 years old)
    2. marcadelic
      marcadelic
      (29 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...