IGNORED

Could Bubba Watson Benefit From Instruction?

Golfingdad
Note: This thread is 4066 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I was watching 'On The Range' the other day and they were highlighting Bubba and his swing.  By now, we all know he is a freaky-talented golfer who is self taught and, when watching his swing, it's easy to believe that ...

So what happens to a guy like this when things start to go south?  Is somebody with this unorthodox of a swing, and who is already this talented on their own, coachable?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I was watching 'On The Range' the other day and they were highlighting Bubba and his swing.  By now, we all know he is a freaky-talented golfer who is self taught and, when watching his swing, it's easy to believe that ...

So what happens to a guy like this when things start to go south?  Is somebody with this unorthodox of a swing, and who is already this talented on their own, coachable?

My guess is no, he's not coachable in his present form.  He's the Tim Tebow of golf.  He does everything wrong, but manages to get by because he's learned to compensate for all the fundamental mistakes he makes.

When you're the only guy on the planet who tries to do things the way you do, you can't really go to someone who does it a completely different way and expect to get useful info, can you?

Originally Posted by dave67az

He's the Tim Tebow of golf.  He does everything wrong, but manages to get by because he's learned to compensate for all the fundamental mistakes he makes.