IGNORED

Getting newbies on the course

flintcreek6412
Note: This thread is 4071 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

If you want to train for a marathon you don't run 26.2 miles on the first day . You also don't take a newbie out on an 18 hole course!

I'm pretty new to this forum and in pouring over lots of posts I've noticed what seems to be a common sentiment.  It's about trying to get newbies(kids, wife or friends) into the game when they seem to meet with rudeness or discourtesy by other players on the course.

I am no expert but I was introduced to golf about 40yrs ago by my father and grandfather.  I remember how I was taught and have since introduced my wife to the game.  My children have had no interest at all and I'm ok with that.

I think some of us need a reality check when it comes to ability and expectations on a golf course.  First of all, courtesy is a 2 way street.  I am all about people teaching others the game but there is a time and place for it.  When I'm paying good money for green fees I do have expectations about a basic pace of play.  I play fast but don't expect others to do the same.  But when it's 10am on a Saturday morning any my foursome is held up by a twosome that's punching the ball 30-50yrds a shot while they try to learn the game, that's not the best time or place.  When it gets to the point that there are open holes ahead of them I will get irritated.  Golf is about rhythm and you are messing with mine now.