Jump to content
IGNORED

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)


iacas
 Share

Note: This thread is 3093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Eric, given that it seems you're the only person who noticed this and then made other people aware. I'll remind you now that you could be about to become one of the most disliked men in golf if Tiger gets DQ'ed.

I would shank him myself with a rusty spatula...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well I Paused each shot from the ESPN video.  Put them side by side.  The ball was MAYBE a couple feet behind his original divot.  I didn't see his drop but it is possible it bounced back a foot or too.  Watch the video...its not that far away from his orginal divot...and if it was dropped near his divot it is within the rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Wallstreet

Well I Paused each shot from the ESPN video.  Put them side by side.  The ball was MAYBE a couple feet behind his original divot.  I didn't see his drop but it is possible it bounced back a foot or too.  Watch the video...its not that far away from his orginal divot...and if it was dropped near his divot it is within the rules.

The hill slopes the other direction. It wouldn't bounce backwards.

I haven't watched the replays. Two yards could easily look very close on TV though - telephoto lenses compress things like CRAZY. Two yards is not "as nearly as possible" to the original spot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I just think we are missing something.

I know Feherty said he could drop 2 yards behind his original spot, which was perhaps the 4th option you pointed out of a drop zone. I don't understand it obviously, and I don't think you are wrong, but I know it was brought up before he replayed the shot, because I expressly did a double take and asked myself why Feherty could say he could drop 2m behind him, but it was 100%, most definitely said.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Originally Posted by ApocG10

And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

Whether it was red is completely irrelevant. Tiger didn't drop within two clublengths of where it crossed.

Originally Posted by ApocG10

I know Feherty said he could drop 2 yards behind his original spot, which was perhaps the 4th option you pointed out of a drop zone. I don't understand it obviously, and I don't think you are wrong, but I know it was brought up before he replayed the shot, because I expressly did a double take and asked myself why Feherty could say he could drop 2m behind him, but it was 100%, most definitely said.

(Bold) No, that's not an option unless that line also happens to be along the line where it last crossed and the flagstick.

I don't think Feherty said that, and if he did, he'd have been wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

It was not red. I remarked about it in the chat, and I'm pretty sure Feherty recanted a minute later. Either way, we saw enough close-ups of the line to be able to tell that it was yellow, not red. That doesn't really change anything though, Tiger didn't take relief laterally.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Its also just perfectly possible that he was within two club lengths.

Or does the rule say it has to be as close to the original spot as possible? I'm really not sure...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by ApocG10

Its also just perfectly possible that he was within two club lengths.

Of WHAT?

That's not "as nearly as possible." The rule says nothing about two clublengths except for laterals played from within two clublengths OF THE LATERAL HAZARD line.

C'mon. The rules are online. Read them if you want to discuss this please.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

You guys signed off the chat prematurely.

See my Twitter feed, or https://www.facebook.com/iacas/posts/10151392268769227 .

This is awesome......if Tiger gets DQ'd he may never talk to the press again....LOL....Thanks Erik, great stuff

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I think it's a non-issue.  Watched the replay just now on ESPN, recorded, and re-watched, and re-watched again.  You can see his original divot while he's dropping, and he's roughly 1 yard directly behind it.  How strict are we talking about on the "as nearly as possible" rule?  Nobody is expected to drop in their divot, are they?

By the way, Feherty is wrong about how good his first shot was.  (He basically said it was going to skip, draw back, and go in)  That thing very well might have skipped over the green ... it hit the flag first about 2 feet up, and based on where his second shot hit and ended up ... he very well could have bogeyed anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

Of WHAT?

That's not "as nearly as possible." The rule says nothing about two clublengths except for laterals played from within two clublengths OF THE LATERAL HAZARD line.

C'mon. The rules are online. Read them if you want to discuss this please.



I've pointed out multiple times that it doesn't make sense to me, as I generally know the rules. Point is, i'm just wondering if we haven't all missed something. Would he not have two club lengths from the original shot? Or same spot?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I think it's a non-issue.  Watched the replay just now on ESPN, recorded, and re-watched, and re-watched again.  You can see his original divot while he's dropping, and he's roughly 1 yard directly behind it.  How strict are we talking about on the "as nearly as possible" rule?  Nobody is expected to drop in their divot, are they?

Telephoto lenses on cameras severely compress things. That's how ten foot putts look like they're three feet long sometimes.

They're expected to drop close to it - intentionally dropping two yards back is not "as nearly as possible."

Originally Posted by walk18

Yeah you guys have to be kidding with this stuff. There's a reason no one else is talking about this, because its not worth talking about.

The #1 player in the world possibly taking a bad drop and possibly deserving of a DQ is "not worth talking about"? Okay.

Originally Posted by ApocG10

I've pointed out multiple times that it doesn't make sense to me, as I generally know the rules. Point is, i'm just wondering if we haven't all missed something. Would he not have two club lengths from the original shot? Or same spot?

Then stop mentioning two clublengths. That doesn't matter here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would argue that the "as nearly as possible" language is just a bad, bad rule......way too ambiguous...does it mean 1 foot, 3 feet....does it mean you have to try and drop it within an inch of the edge of the divot.......it should be governed by a club length rule.

That said, it is not ruled by clublength......and Tiger seemed to admit that he intentionally dropped it back of his prior spot.....

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
Originally Posted by BallStriker

I would argue that the "as nearly as possible" language is just a bad, bad rule......way too ambiguous...does it mean 1 foot, 3 feet....does it mean you have to try and drop it within an inch of the edge of the divot.......it should be governed by a club length rule.

That said, it is not ruled by clublength......and Tiger seemed to admit that he intentionally dropped it back of his prior spot.....

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5 ); or
b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or
c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard , drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Temp 44, damp, cloudy, wind gusting into the upper 20's. Arthritis has the hands so bound up I couldn't even open up a Ziplock bag.  Arthritic spine is killing me. Tee time at 12:34. I'll do my best, but days like this are why I don't even try to track a handicap. I can shoot 78 one day and 108 the next....
    • Here’s a 63 year old woman who doing something similar. She never went to college before, so there is no eligibility issue. Meet the 63-year-old college athlete with a killer golf swing Debbie Blount is a 63-year-old sophomore at Reinhardt University and a beloved member of the women's golf team. As one of the oldest student athletes in the US, her friends call her "Ancient Eagle," after Reinhardt's...  
    • Heck, I am 62 and on good days still swing the driver well over 100 mph,  but I am much more consistent with a spinnier 10.5 degree Ping G400 than I am with a 12 degree SLDR. Granted, when I absolutely pound one the SLDR will go further, but not down wind, not enough backspin with the low spin driver to keep it airborne.
    • The pandemic and my surgery screwed things up the past couple years. 2020 ended 12/18/2020, after 9 holes at Washtenaw.  I was feeling poorly and unknown to me, I was going to take an ambulance ride the next morning to the ER.  Fast forward to this year, a buddy and I teed it up at Whispering Willows (Livonia) on March 12.  I was still recovering from surgery but the weather was cooperating so I booked a tee time to see if I could still swing a club.  I could (barely) and so on went the season. Courses start to close down once we hit November.  I will try to keep playing until the ground is frozen, covered with snow or no course will let me play.  I am going to say 12/15 will be that last day and 3/15/2022 will be the dawn of the next season.
    • When I was in my 30's, I used to frequently play a course that was but 6400 yards from the tips, and had some pretty tight holes. I would often, especially on windy days, go all day without pulling a wood. But back then I could actually hit a 1 iron. Set was usually 1,3,5 woods, 1,  3-SW irons, putter. Seldom carried a 2 Iron, really never needed a 2,3 or 4 on that track, even the par 5's would be 1i, 1i  short iron or wedge. Now days I usually carry 1,3,5,7,9 woods and 6-P, gap, sand and lob wedge. I could lose the 3 wood, it's pretty much only used off the tee. But since I got the T300's, the 4 & 5 irons get played in lieu of the 7 & 9 woods on windy days, such as today will be, winds gusting to the high 20's. Tee time at 12:34. Long/mid irons I can actually hit consistently at 62. What a concept. Glad I swallowed my pride and got fitted into these....
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. drink water
      drink water
      (32 years old)
    2. SCOTTYCA
      SCOTTYCA
      (63 years old)
    3. ShawnFenton
      ShawnFenton
      (43 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...