Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
iacas

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)

Note: This thread is 2331 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

1,228 posts / 57496 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Oh that. I dunno, even Feherty said that tiger had 3 options for a drop there, and one was about 2 yards behind him. I dunno why, I know it was red stakes, but thats what was said before he made the shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by iacas

You guys signed off the chat prematurely.

See my Twitter feed, or https://www.facebook.com/iacas/posts/10151392268769227 .

Holy shit this is gonna suck....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Holy shit this is gonna suck....

I've found literally no one else mentioning this. Not on Facebook, Twitter, golf websites...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

naww, there is no dq. He was given the option of dropping there by the rules official on the hole. Feherty spoke of his options before he took the second shot, and that was one of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can Erik tell me what hole he is talking about?  You don't explain what hole you are talking about

15, the phlagstick ricochet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by ApocG10

naww, there is no dq. He was given the option of dropping there by the rules official on the hole. Feherty spoke of his options before he took the second shot, and that was one of them.

No it isn't.

First, it's yellow. I don't know what Feherty is talking about. But let's pretend it is red. You get to:

  • Replay the shot.
  • Drop on the line back from where it last crossed the hazard.
  • Drop within two clublengths.
  • Use a drop zone.

Tiger clearly used the first option. He didn't replay from the original spot. If he had chosen option #2 he'd have had to go well back on the line to the left.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by JetFan1983

Ugh, I feel like someone just pissed in my cornflakes.

I think there's roughly a 0.2% chance anything happens.

But I'd investigate if I was on the RC.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

You guys signed off the chat prematurely.

See my Twitter feed, or https://www.facebook.com/iacas/posts/10151392268769227 .

Eric, given that it seems you're the only person who noticed this and then made other people aware. I'll remind you now that you could be about to become one of the most disliked men in golf if Tiger gets DQ'ed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by iacas

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetFan1983

Ugh, I feel like someone just pissed in my cornflakes.

I think there's roughly a 0.2% chance anything happens.

But I'd investigate if I was on the RC.

Either way it sucks because he either is going to get away with a broken rule or he's going to get DQ'd.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Cracker24

Eric, given that it seems you're the only person who noticed this and then made other people aware. I'll remind you now that you could be about to become one of the most disliked men in golf if Tiger gets DQ'ed.

Yeah, I agree, that Eric dude's in for a shitstorm if anyone actually picks this up. ;-)

Rules are rules. What can I say? I think my posts here clearly paint me as NOT a Tiger hater or even a disliker at all. I've been rooting for him since 1996. Or before, since I watched his Am wins. I want him to get to 19. I want to see history made.

But Rules are Rules. Especially at the tournament Mr. Jones started.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2331 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • 235 out on a 2nd shot to a par 5 from a good lie in the fairway.  Barely a downhill lie if anything.  The left side is all woods.  the pin is behind the foliage and the right side of the green is protected by a little pool fairly tight.  Probably 215 to the green, 235 to the pin.  2nd shot is designed to risk to the green, or lay out to the right where there's a simple collection, abeit also a tight fit, or layup to the right short where it's fairly wide. I chose the layout with a little draw - if I hit it straight or push, I'm on the short grass with a little chip.  If I do hit the draw, it should be fine.  Bounce up from short, either on, or just short and right of the pond. 5h (200 yard club) and I got the baby draw, but it was absolutely pure.  Came up to the green and noticed the pond protected the entire green, not just the middle/left.  But I carried the green, ball checked up just 5 feet past the ball mark.  (Long putt for eagle - of course I left that short.  good birdie). (empty course, I went back and tried my 3h - same result, just ball unded up long and just past the fringe, but greenside.  Apparently I was destined to finally hit a good shot on this hole.  I took out 3 holes that previously were problem holes.  good day - these of the season has been killing problem holes.)
    • 2 really solid shots from my round yesterday. First was a 190 yd par 3, flag tucked about 8 or 9 feet off the right edge of the green. I aimed right at the center of the green, absolutely flushed a 6 iron as good as I've ever hit a 6 iron, pushed it a little bit, ended up exactly pin high 6 feet to the right of the flag, had less than a foot of roll from its' ball mark. Sunk the putt for a birdie.   Second was an approach shot to a par 5. I had 245 left, and was a couple feet off the edge of the fairway and had some really low overhanging tree branches about 20 feet in front of me and a pond that intersected the fairway about 30 yds further up. The rough wasn't bad at all so I had a clean look at the ball, so the plan was to hit a punch 3 iron under the tree branches and let it roll up hoping it would go like 150-200 yds or so. Moved the ball back in my stance, kept weight and hands forward, gave it a solid swing and watched the ball start out under the tree branches then as soon as it cleared the branches it started to rise and ended up landing just short of the green and rolled through the green to the back fringe. I was shocked that it managed to go that far. The ball flight looked like one of those "stinger" videos that people post on social media, it was really cool to see (even if it was somewhat unintentional)
    • The opposite is far more true. It's much, much easier to accept losing by blow-out than to accept losing on the last hole. In the former, you just didn't have it, you accept your fate earlier on, you were clearly outmatched, etc. In the latter… you had every chance to win and still couldn't get it done.
    • I’m scratch and I still 3 putt once a round. GIR is king, then its nGIR. One thing I noticed with some of my students is they don’t even know what lines to take the ball off the tee. Play to the safer side of the landing area. Don’t try to actively avoid rough. It’s not usually long enough to where it’ll hurt you. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Benit0
      Benit0
      (36 years old)
    2. Doine Rechard
      Doine Rechard
      (40 years old)
    3. Golfalert
      Golfalert
      (44 years old)
    4. HooshnOhio
      HooshnOhio
      (49 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...