Jump to content
IGNORED

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)


Note: This thread is 3015 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Eric, given that it seems you're the only person who noticed this and then made other people aware. I'll remind you now that you could be about to become one of the most disliked men in golf if Tiger gets DQ'ed.

I would shank him myself with a rusty spatula...

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 1.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It should be noted that Tiger did not somehow capitalize on a break in his favor.  IF he is not DQ'd, and IF he comes back to win, anybody suggesting that he was "lucky" or "fortunate" would be severe

No article from Feinstein on Tiger is worth reading.

From a friend of Tiger: “More than the physical and swing-wise, he’s just not working on anything . He’s not worried about his swing, he’s worried about the score. He’s

Well I Paused each shot from the ESPN video.  Put them side by side.  The ball was MAYBE a couple feet behind his original divot.  I didn't see his drop but it is possible it bounced back a foot or too.  Watch the video...its not that far away from his orginal divot...and if it was dropped near his divot it is within the rules.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Wallstreet

Well I Paused each shot from the ESPN video.  Put them side by side.  The ball was MAYBE a couple feet behind his original divot.  I didn't see his drop but it is possible it bounced back a foot or too.  Watch the video...its not that far away from his orginal divot...and if it was dropped near his divot it is within the rules.

The hill slopes the other direction. It wouldn't bounce backwards.

I haven't watched the replays. Two yards could easily look very close on TV though - telephoto lenses compress things like CRAZY. Two yards is not "as nearly as possible" to the original spot.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I just think we are missing something.

I know Feherty said he could drop 2 yards behind his original spot, which was perhaps the 4th option you pointed out of a drop zone. I don't understand it obviously, and I don't think you are wrong, but I know it was brought up before he replayed the shot, because I expressly did a double take and asked myself why Feherty could say he could drop 2m behind him, but it was 100%, most definitely said.

Link to post
Share on other sites

And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by ApocG10

And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

Whether it was red is completely irrelevant. Tiger didn't drop within two clublengths of where it crossed.

Originally Posted by ApocG10

I know Feherty said he could drop 2 yards behind his original spot, which was perhaps the 4th option you pointed out of a drop zone. I don't understand it obviously, and I don't think you are wrong, but I know it was brought up before he replayed the shot, because I expressly did a double take and asked myself why Feherty could say he could drop 2m behind him, but it was 100%, most definitely said.

(Bold) No, that's not an option unless that line also happens to be along the line where it last crossed and the flagstick.

I don't think Feherty said that, and if he did, he'd have been wrong.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And Feherty also talked about it being red staked, which also sounded wrong, but I until I see a replay up, I cant be 100% sure that he said red. Still close though. Im positive he claimed it to be red.

It was not red. I remarked about it in the chat, and I'm pretty sure Feherty recanted a minute later. Either way, we saw enough close-ups of the line to be able to tell that it was yellow, not red. That doesn't really change anything though, Tiger didn't take relief laterally.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Its also just perfectly possible that he was within two club lengths.

Or does the rule say it has to be as close to the original spot as possible? I'm really not sure...

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by ApocG10

Its also just perfectly possible that he was within two club lengths.

Of WHAT?

That's not "as nearly as possible." The rule says nothing about two clublengths except for laterals played from within two clublengths OF THE LATERAL HAZARD line.

C'mon. The rules are online. Read them if you want to discuss this please.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

You guys signed off the chat prematurely.

See my Twitter feed, or https://www.facebook.com/iacas/posts/10151392268769227 .

This is awesome......if Tiger gets DQ'd he may never talk to the press again....LOL....Thanks Erik, great stuff

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's a non-issue.  Watched the replay just now on ESPN, recorded, and re-watched, and re-watched again.  You can see his original divot while he's dropping, and he's roughly 1 yard directly behind it.  How strict are we talking about on the "as nearly as possible" rule?  Nobody is expected to drop in their divot, are they?

By the way, Feherty is wrong about how good his first shot was.  (He basically said it was going to skip, draw back, and go in)  That thing very well might have skipped over the green ... it hit the flag first about 2 feet up, and based on where his second shot hit and ended up ... he very well could have bogeyed anyway.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah you guys have to be kidding with this stuff. There's a reason no one else is talking about this, because its not worth talking about.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by iacas

Of WHAT?

That's not "as nearly as possible." The rule says nothing about two clublengths except for laterals played from within two clublengths OF THE LATERAL HAZARD line.

C'mon. The rules are online. Read them if you want to discuss this please.



I've pointed out multiple times that it doesn't make sense to me, as I generally know the rules. Point is, i'm just wondering if we haven't all missed something. Would he not have two club lengths from the original shot? Or same spot?

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I think it's a non-issue.  Watched the replay just now on ESPN, recorded, and re-watched, and re-watched again.  You can see his original divot while he's dropping, and he's roughly 1 yard directly behind it.  How strict are we talking about on the "as nearly as possible" rule?  Nobody is expected to drop in their divot, are they?

Telephoto lenses on cameras severely compress things. That's how ten foot putts look like they're three feet long sometimes.

They're expected to drop close to it - intentionally dropping two yards back is not "as nearly as possible."

Originally Posted by walk18

Yeah you guys have to be kidding with this stuff. There's a reason no one else is talking about this, because its not worth talking about.

The #1 player in the world possibly taking a bad drop and possibly deserving of a DQ is "not worth talking about"? Okay.

Originally Posted by ApocG10

I've pointed out multiple times that it doesn't make sense to me, as I generally know the rules. Point is, i'm just wondering if we haven't all missed something. Would he not have two club lengths from the original shot? Or same spot?

Then stop mentioning two clublengths. That doesn't matter here.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would argue that the "as nearly as possible" language is just a bad, bad rule......way too ambiguous...does it mean 1 foot, 3 feet....does it mean you have to try and drop it within an inch of the edge of the divot.......it should be governed by a club length rule.

That said, it is not ruled by clublength......and Tiger seemed to admit that he intentionally dropped it back of his prior spot.....

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
Originally Posted by BallStriker

I would argue that the "as nearly as possible" language is just a bad, bad rule......way too ambiguous...does it mean 1 foot, 3 feet....does it mean you have to try and drop it within an inch of the edge of the divot.......it should be governed by a club length rule.

That said, it is not ruled by clublength......and Tiger seemed to admit that he intentionally dropped it back of his prior spot.....

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5 ); or
b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or
c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard , drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3015 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I will be brief, since others have weighed in and I echo the vast majority of what they've said (plus I love bullet points).  Naga-Waukee War Memorial - 6 A fun course, architecturally interesting Several nice views Walkable Passes the "I'd play here often" test Club at Lac La Belle - 6.5 Great Parkland golf.  I think the score suffered a little because all the other courses were so unique, but if this place were near my house it'd be one of the better courses available to play publicly. Walkable Firm, well-maintained greens with interesting contours Good combination of tough holes and less-challenging ones Not many real recovery options on a bad shot - most often, you're punching out from trees or laying up from a fairway bunker Passes the "I'd play here often" test  Favorite hole: #16 Lawsonia Links - 8 Unique and visually interesting Walkable Well-maintained greens with interesting contours, with play varying based on hole location (2) Par-3's were too long for me to really enjoy playing them Too many blind tee shots Some of the most fun approach shots I've had to play Passes the "I'd drive a couple hours to play here" test Favorite hole: #7 Mammoth Dunes - 8 Visually stunning Walkable Huge greens and fairways Turns out, I really enjoy "resort golf".  Separation value (which @iacas) referred to above is different for a 14-hcp...I liked that a wider range of shots were rewarded, but you still have to hit the ball solidly. Passes the "I'd drive a long way to stay/play here again" test Sand Valley - 8.5 Visually stunning Walkable Huge greens and fairways This is an aspirational course for me - breaking 90 the second day, even from an easier set of tees, felt like a real accomplishment...something I had to work damn hard for.  This is the kind of course I want to be good enough to play well.  At the end of the day, that's what ticked it 0.5 above Mammoth Dunes. Passes the "I'd drive a long way to stay/play here again" test
    • Our school district announced that they are going back to masks. It will be required for anyone under the age of 11, and then strongly recommended for anyone not vaccinated and recommended for anyone vaccinated. My wife (vaccinated) will likely wear one. My son will have to wear one. Honestly, I’m a little relieved. I think it’s the right choice, given the circumstances. There are probably better ways to do it, but they would involve mandating the vaccine for students and staff. I’m betting that’s coming before the start of 2022, but this is good enough in the interim. 
    • Working with my instructor on some simple grip and setup issues. I actually shortened my driver shaft and regripped with the same grip(gotta love pure grips) after testing some things out. I then added a bit of throw in the DS as mentioned in the last post to get some nice high ball flights with lots of carry and no more bottom half strikes. I am really liking the extension post impact, might need to work on the upper center getting a bit more forward but good progress for now. I don't need as much of a Bubba move as @saevel25 pointed out that I had at SV to counter an over rotating clubface. This will be counted as my yearly swing thread post with video. 😉  
    • This drill will help more for that. Try and keep the right elbow from bending more than 90 degrees too.
    • The numbers are ticking up for daily vaxxing, from what I read.  So that’s some good news.   My wife and I can’t wait for the under 12 to be approved.   It drives us crazy that non-vaxxed adults are doing whatever they want with their kids while we mostly keep ours home and limit contact with people until it’s safer. My wife said there was a long line at Walgreens yesterday for people getting the vaccine.   Fingers crossed.   
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CrappyGolfer
      CrappyGolfer
      (68 years old)
    2. Jacob Vance
      Jacob Vance
      (25 years old)
    3. jax731
      jax731
      (54 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...