Jump to content
IGNORED

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)


Note: This thread is 3009 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

" He could have dropped the ball, keeping the point at which it last crossed the margin of the water between the hole and the spot on which the ball would be dropped." Any reason why he could not have choosen this option ?

The ball bounced off the flagstick and to the left, as can be seen on the picture below. It crossed the margin of the hazard the last time on the return, which would put the line between that point and the hole way to the left, into some bushes. It seems Tiger thought he was using that option, but forgot where the ball crossed the hazard. There is no doubt it's deliberate. He was standing there and moved 2 yards back, as he said in the interview. It's one thing to forget where you hit it from and make a guesstimation, but that doesn't seem to be the case here. That first shot could be one of the worst breaks in his career. He'd had a shot at birdie, ended up with bogey and might be DQ'd because of it. [quote name="Beachcomber" url="/t/65568/2013-masters-discussion-thread-update-with-possible-illegal-drop-from-tiger-post-343/450#post_831378"] If you drop and your ball ends up in your original divot - then the ball would have moved closer to the hole.  As you hit the ball first, ground second - divot follows.  So under the rules of golf, you should be able to re-drop as the ball moved closer to the hole. [/quote] Yeah, I realized that. I seem to remember Rickie dropping into a divot hole earlier this year, after he hit two balls in the water, but that may have been someone else's hole.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 1.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It should be noted that Tiger did not somehow capitalize on a break in his favor.  IF he is not DQ'd, and IF he comes back to win, anybody suggesting that he was "lucky" or "fortunate" would be severe

No article from Feinstein on Tiger is worth reading.

From a friend of Tiger: “More than the physical and swing-wise, he’s just not working on anything . He’s not worried about his swing, he’s worried about the score. He’s

Originally Posted by Stretch

It will be a great pity if Tiger is DQed. But, if he chose not to seek a ruling and then did get it wrong, I don't see how there's another outcome? He's already said straight out that he deliberately dropped away from his previous position.

Just imagine if the Chinese kid had missed the cut, too. Not a great day for the Masters ...


If they can disqualify poor old Roberto "I am a stupid" Di ViCenzo, they can DQ the Tiger.  If Tiger is disqualified, the eventual winner will always have the asterisk label "he won the year Tiger was DQ'd".

Cloud will hang over this one, for sure.  Nice playing by Jason Day - nice guy, good post round interview on GC.  I always prefer a proven winner and not a one-hit wonder win the Jacket. Not sure where Day fits in that.......probably the later, but would like to see an Aussie finally win it someday.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by crayputter

" He could have dropped the ball, keeping the point at which it last crossed the margin of the water between the hole and the spot on which the ball would be dropped."

Any reason why he could not have choosen this option ?

Ray

No that was definitely one option he had. But the line from the flag, through the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard (as it rolled off the green) was at least 20 yards to the left of where he dropped his ball.

As far as I can tell his only hope is that he can convince the officials that he honestly though the ball bounced straight back at him off the flagstick (it went at least 30 degrees to the side as you can see from the video above). He won't be penalised for an honest mistake, but given all the assistance available to him out there and the general principal that doubt is resolved against the individual to protect the field I think the most likely resolution is that he will be DQed.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Zeph

Great diagram Zeph. It's interesting if the whole hazard is not lateral given that layout. It looks like there would be quite a few positions from which you wouldn't have a drop going back from the flag.

And I'd agree that red line is pretty accurate given the video. No way he can claim he thought he was on the right line given he was only 80 yards away.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rick Martin

If they can disqualify poor old Roberto "I am a stupid" Di ViCenzo, they can DQ the Tiger.  If Tiger is disqualified, the eventual winner will always have the asterisk label "he won the year Tiger was DQ'd".

Cloud will hang over this one, for sure.  Nice playing by Jason Day - nice guy, good post round interview on GC.  I always prefer a proven winner and not a one-hit wonder win the Jacket. Not sure where Day fits in that.......probably the later, but would like to see an Aussie finally win it someday.

If he goes on to win the masters it may be known as "the major he should have been disqualified"

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Mordan

No that was definitely one option he had. But the line from the flag, through the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard (as it rolled off the green) was at least 20 yards to the left of where he dropped his ball.

As far as I can tell his only hope is that he can convince the officials that he honestly though the ball bounced straight back at him off the flagstick (it went at least 30 degrees to the side as you can see from the video above). He won't be penalised for an honest mistake, but given all the assistance available to him out there and the general principal that doubt is resolved against the individual to protect the field I think the most likely resolution is that he will be DQed.

Ok, fair enough...

But what if in the morning tomorrow, Tiger says 'I couldn't see the ball and thought it came straight back at me into the drink' ?

In all honesty, the video does show Tiger straining to see his first shot as soon as he hit it.

Ray

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by crayputter

Ok, fair enough...

But what if in the morning tomorrow, Tiger says 'I couldn't see the ball and thought it came straight back at me into the drink' ?

In all honesty, the video does show Tiger straining to see his first shot as soon as he hit it.

Ray

He has fellow competitors, caddies, rules officials and spectators, even TV to ask. While there is a decision that says that an honest mistake should not be penalised, if Tiger could not see but had all those resources around him to ask is it really honest to just guess rather than use those resources that would allow him to accurately determine the right line to drop on.

The only way I could see him get away with it is if his fellow competitors come forward and say that they told him that they thought it came straight back at him. He'd need at least one third party to have told him where it went (wrongly) if he couldn't see.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, fair enough... But what if in the morning tomorrow, Tiger says 'I couldn't see the ball and thought it came straight back at me into the drink' ? In all honesty, the video does show Tiger straining to see his first shot as soon as he hit it.

That might be a way for them to allow it. It's strange Joe didn't pick up on it either. You can't really miss the ball bouncing off 30 degrees to the left.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by crayputter

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mordan

No that was definitely one option he had. But the line from the flag, through the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard (as it rolled off the green) was at least 20 yards to the left of where he dropped his ball.

As far as I can tell his only hope is that he can convince the officials that he honestly though the ball bounced straight back at him off the flagstick (it went at least 30 degrees to the side as you can see from the video above). He won't be penalised for an honest mistake, but given all the assistance available to him out there and the general principal that doubt is resolved against the individual to protect the field I think the most likely resolution is that he will be DQed.

Ok, fair enough...

But what if in the morning tomorrow, Tiger says 'I couldn't see the ball and thought it came straight back at me into the drink' ?

In all honesty, the video does show Tiger straining to see his first shot as soon as he hit it.

Ray


He did say in one post round interview that the sun was directly in his eyes on that shot.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Zeph

That might be a way for them to allow it. It's strange Joe didn't pick up on it either. You can't really miss the ball bouncing off 30 degrees to the left.

Only Joe ?? What about Donald, Pearcy and their caddies ??

If I were playing with someone and I knew there was a rules infingement, I'd be the first to approach him !

This whole episode is strange....well, a few hours away now.....all will be sorted then, I suppose :)

Ray

Link to post
Share on other sites

Only Joe ?? What about Donald, Pearcy and their caddies ?? If I were playing with someone and I knew there was a rules infingement, I'd be the first to approach him !

Yeah. They might not have picked up on him moving a few yards back though.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

GC Morning Drive' opening: Guan and Jason Day. You'd think they'd start w/ this controversy if it was a real potential. No mention of it. We'll see.

I'm guessing in about an hour and half, the good people at Augusta would address this for sure... Just curious though, if Augusta stay quiet somehow, what happens ? TW keeps his 145pm tee time ? Ray

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by crayputter

I'm guessing in about an hour and half, the good people at Augusta would address this for sure...

Just curious though, if Augusta stay quiet somehow, what happens ? TW keeps his 145pm tee time ?

Ray

Yeah, the decision is entirely at the discretion of the Augusta National officials.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3009 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • @Shorty, @boogielicious, and @iacas thank you for adding well-reasoned and factual statements to counter @Billy Z’s nonsense.   While I tend to agree to a limited extent that people can be overly sensitive these days, “Indian” and the equivalent (“red skins” and the like) are, as all of you pointed out, offensive—and not just a nitpicky level of sensitivity—but offensive to all reasonable people, given historical context and usage. Therefore, I think the ball club made the right decision. However, I’m not a fan of “guardians,” but I’m happy to see the change. 
    • This nails it. And if he read this he’d think..’yeah…another minion.’ 
    • In the video, one of them had #7 as their favorite hole 🙂 Then sadly he liked #9 Here are my course reviews... Lac La Belle - 6.0/10 Visually this course is good. The mix of fescue, bunkers, and marshy areas outline the holes nicely. There is a lot of target golf going on here. Some of the holes were a bit wonky, like hole #2. Also, the 600 yard par 5 was kind of bad. I am just glad that the fescue was not thick and tall, it was very playable from. If not, this course would be unbearable. The massive putting green with basically a putt putt course was really fun. In the end, it's a good course, but I would not enjoy playing this course a lot. Just too much target golf.  Course Layout - 5/10, Course Condition - 8/10, Visual - 8/10, Clubhouse - N/A Lawsonia - 7.0/10 I really enjoyed this course. It has a unique style that isn’t around my area. Holes 1 thru 8 were good. For me, a bit too many blind tee shots. Holes 9-18 were more open from the tee. Luckily, there wasn’t much in the terms areas the ball would end up unplayable on the holes with blind tee shots. If you aimed over the mounds, and hit a decent shot you would have a shot at the green. There was a good variety of holes. This course was really fun to play.  Course Layout - 7/10, Course Condition - 8/10, Visual - 6/10, Clubhouse - N/A Mammoth Dunes - 8.0/10 A visually stunning course. It is much more of a friendly course than Sand Valley due to the green complexes having more areas to feed the ball into the green on errant shots. Each hole was like a problem to solve off the tee even though there was wide landing areas. I really enjoyed playing this course. The first tee shot of the day was really awesome teeing off from an elevated tee over looking over the expanse of the property. It really gives you a sense of the grand scale of the course. The bins of water on the course were nice since  you have to walk the course.  Course Layout - 8/10, Course Condition - 8/10, Visual - 8/10, Clubhouse - N/A Sand Valley - 8.5/10 A visually stunning golf course. The green complexes are tough with a premium on hitting the flat areas or areas with backstops. Balls would routinely run off the edges where severe slopes were located at. When you miss the green, you usually had a few options to play. Mostly, the high risk through the air or try to putt it to a spot on the green for a longer putt. I think the back nine is much stronger than the front nine. Overall, I prefer the test of this course.  Course Layout - 9/10, Course Condition - 8/10, Visual - 8/10, Clubhouse - N/A Bonus - Sandbox - 10/10 This little gem of a course is just a joy to play. Each green complex is unique and with the variety of pin placements and tee boxes changing daily, each time playing is slightly different. I thoroughly looked forward to starting every day at the Sandbox. 
    • I guess it's easier for some people to think that their enemy is a cult rather than a bunch of informed individuals. Saves one the bother of introspection. 🙃
    • I am watching that thread.  Just in wait & see mode
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Armando Araujo
      Armando Araujo
      (46 years old)
    2. chris3putt
      chris3putt
      (54 years old)
    3. CrazyHorsePete
      CrazyHorsePete
      (34 years old)
    4. DHak20
      DHak20
      (44 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...