IGNORED

Blade irons

keller19xc
Note: This thread is 3870 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

You just know...

I wouldn't consider them until you can consistently hit the sweet spot on your irons. You can always grab an old 7 iron and take it to the range to practice. That will give you good feedback.

Cobra LTDx 10.5* | Big Tour 15.5*| Rad Tour 18.5*  | Titleist U500 4-23* | T100 5-P | Vokey SM7 50/8* F, 54/10* S, SM8 58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback No. 1 | Vice Pro Plus  

Hi there.

I am a beginner (Sept 2012) and I decided to start with blade irons because they tell you exactly how you are hitting the ball - i.e. you get the most feedback from these kinds of irons.

Also they look nice

Get a progressive set. I have no problem hitting my 7-pw pretty solid most of the time, but 3-6 I like a little more forgiveness. I used to play a progressive set, than I just bought Adams forged CB1s. The head is relatively small, which I prefer, and they are workable. I feel like I hit those big, ugly, chunky looking irons all over the place, from the toe to the heel. Somehow, I think it's much easier to hit a solid, middle of the face shot with a smaller club head.

Driver: Titleist 910d2

Irons: Mizuno MP4s kbs tour shafts

Vokey Wedges 50 54 & 58

Putter: Scotty Cameron Fastback

Balls: Pro v1x 

I've never had any blades but every time I ever hit one that somebody else had I hit them with more ease than my R7 irons.

The oversized perimeter weighted clubs are more "forgiving" on an impact off of the sweet spot but take more energy to rotate back to square (because of more weight further from the hosel). That in itself can actually cause the missed sweet spot in the first place.