IGNORED

coach completely

coach magic
Note:Β This thread is 4016 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

I have been a high school golf coach for 30 years.Β  Many posts here are partly correct, but they do not go far enough.Β  A solid coach has to know the game just like a football or basketball coach knows his game.Β  Learn everything about teaching the fundamentals that you can.

Teach your players how to hold the club, how to swing it in all possible situations.Β  How to handle sand, hilly lies, long putts, short putts, chips, pitches.

Team them the rules and course etiquette. Teach them the best strategic way to play each course, in relation to their own type of ability.Β  Make them realize that they must continue to compete, even on a bad day, because they are playing for the team, not just for themselves.

Being a good high school coach takes a lot of work.Β  i put in 25-30 hours a week, but it is worth it when you see the players improve, and the team get better.

• Upvote 1

I guess it works a little different around here.

Our local high school has a pretty good tradition going as one of the better teams in the state each yearΒ and the coach doesn't really do much coaching other than managing the team and helping the younger players with things like course management and strategy, and getting them to the matches and keeping them in line.

If he actually coached the golf swing of the better playersΒ he would be run out of town. There are too many ways to swing a golf club and a lot of parents wouldn't be too thrilled if he started messing with the swings that either the dad or the local pro had been teaching them for years.