IGNORED

can't hit my driver again

Note: This thread is 3154 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been golfing for about 6-7 yrs now. Had about a dozen lessons & have a nice iron swing and hit my fairway woods (5 & 7) good.

My driver I seem to be topping everything or coming outside to in & sweeping it left. Years ago I had my pro working with me and she said I'm not getting enough body rotation ( seems like they ALL say that when they can't fix it). She had me @ 1 point swinging (focusing) like a whole ball length behind the ball and it worked for awhile but annoys the crap out of me, I want to focus on the ball not looking 2" behind it @ a piece of grass. I was thinking of trying a 10 finger grip to get more sweep around and less wrist . I think i'm breaking my wrist too early or something. When I first started playing I was like most people, hit the driver ok but slicing. I hit 220-240. Does anybody have a similar experience or suggestion (other than seeing a pro) ?

Originally Posted by mattyboy

She had me @ 1 point swinging (focusing) like a whole ball length behind the ball and it worked for awhile but annoys the crap out of me

This works quite well for me, I can have the clubhead as far as 4 or 5 inches behind the ball at address. This helps me to keep my head behind the ball preventing pop ups.

It was recommended here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnopJFvTa3Q

It often helps for me to shorten the swing with the driver.  I find especially with the driver there is a tendency for my swing to get too long and my arms separated from my body.  When I keep everything compact and rotating together I get much better results.