IGNORED

Beginner advice needed on selecting a full set of new clubs

Note: This thread is 3976 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Greetings Folks,

I haven't been able to locate a section dedicated specifically to "Beginners", but I've posted a detailed Intro under the "Welcome, Everyone" section, so there's more information there if needed. Anyway, I'm a relative beginner to golf with a need for some new clubs, so I guess I'll start here.

I've played a few rounds of golf with rental clubs in recent weeks, but for several key reasons, I'd like to start taking the game a bit more seriously, so I'm going to make the investment in a new set of clubs. Basically, I'd just like to get some of 'beginner' questions answered on the design, fitting and selection of new clubs, before I go exposing myself to any significant blind (i.e., on-line) purchases or to any retail sales people.

I'm talking here about things like . . .

1) What are some of the better brands of irons, woods and drivers I should look for?

2) Should I focus on metal or graphite shafts?

3) At 6' 3" and 245 lbs, should I focus on regular, stiff or so-called senior flex? And what about overall shaft length?

Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!