IGNORED

Long irons and woods are out of my bag.

Note: This thread is 3991 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This might sound crazy to most or maybe all of the members here but I removed my woods, my hybrids, and my long irons from my bag. I've been playing for close to 10 years and I have never been able to hit the above mentioned clubs with any consistency. I decided couple days ago driving home from the driving range that I would try to play a round with just the clubs I hit well (driver, 7 thru 9 irons and wedges). Today I played the best round I've ever played, 3 birdies and 5 pars the rest bogies and a couple doubles. Still that was a great round for me. Not one topped ball, not one slice which is what I do sometimes with those long clubs. I played with a total different mindset, I wasn't trying to reach par 5's in two which I never do anyway but I would always try with a wood or hybrid after a drive and usually got myself in trouble. I guess I'm wondering if this is odd. Does anyone else play this way?

Its not strange. Its the score that counts, not what clubs you use to get there. I know a guy that carries all woods. There is maybe one wedge in his bag, thats it. He doesn't shoot great scores, but it works for him. Why play and get mad as hell if you can't hit certain clubs. Thats not fun. Some people might say you should learn how to hit the woods, not just discard them.