IGNORED

Weight Forward Throughout Entire Swing

Note: This thread is 2542 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have shot the best golf of my life for the last month or so. My friends always tell me how jealous they are of my swing, but I could never hit the ball consistently. Always hitting fat, or shooting low spinners off to the right. I started practicing a ton on the chipping greens, grab my shag bag and spend some times 2 hrs just pitching chipping. Realized the more I put my weight forward the better contact i would get.So I tried putting more weight forward in my full swing with my irons (id say 70 front foot, 30 inside of back foot) and I cannot believe how crisp i am hitting the ball. I am pin point accurate with just about every iron.

I shot a 78 over the weekend (40-38), missed 6ft birdie on 18. But my best score coming in was 83. I am hitting just about every green I go for. I have never had a lesson and just do my own research, and try out a ton of stuff in the offseason. Is it normal to keep weight forward through out your entire swing?

Driver: :cleveland:  Hibore XL 9.5*
5 Wood: :cleveland: Hibore 19*
Irons: :nike:Victory Red Tour Forged (3-PW)
Wedge: :cleveland: CG14 56*
Putter: :odyssey: White Ice 2 Ball Blade
Ball: :topflite: 50 elite

I'm not trying to discourage you from what is working, results speak for themselves. But be aware that your feeling of weight forward 70% is most likely just that, a feel. Here is a photo with some numbers based on actual measurements, and you'll see how extreme true 70% weight forward is. He's almost falling over forwards and is still only 68%.