IGNORED

How can I take my game to the next level ?

Note: This thread is 3959 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I'm 20 years old and golf runs in the family so i get to play a lot, however my dad and older brother are still better than me :(
To solve this, about 8 months ago i started practicing more which helped me get my handicap of 15 down to 11 and instead of posting inconsistent scores I am much more consistent playing to my handicap or around abouts with scores of around 82 - 86 and much less often having awful rounds
However, all parts of my games seem to be just decent, I wouldn't say I have a strength and it usually depends on the day which part of my game will be the strongest but usually i drive it straight, on a good day hitting around 14 of the 18 fairways, my iron play is getting better hitting most of the greens (some distance control errors that need fixing) and around the green i have a decent touch (i don't know how to spin the ball though), but would maybe like to hole a few more make-able putts

My question us, what can I do to take my game to the next level as for the last 3 months, i have stayed consistently at my 11 handicap with around the same scores, should I focus on one area of my game or keep practicing everything, looking at my cards i am happy with how I am doing but would still like to become better than my dad and brother who are the 2 best golfers in the society I play at.
Any advice would be grateful, thanks
James

If you're hitting 14 fairways, that means you're hitting every fairway on a standard course. In which case, I would say that you either need to cut out blow up holes (doubles or worse) or improve your short game. I'm usually in the mid 70, and might hit 10 or 12 fairways, but my short game makes up for it, and I rarely post anything above a bogey.