IGNORED

75% of Handicap Question

Meltdwhiskey
Note: This thread is 3931 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have a handicap and have enjoyed learning about how it all works.  But I'd love to understand the percentage handicap for tournaments.  I'm playing in one this weekend.  It is a 2-man best ball and they are giving us credit for 75% of our caps.

What is the strategy behind this?

Is it because we are already getting best ball?

Is it to reward better caps since they won't cost them as many strokes?

And is there any trick to applying it to how we score in the tournament or it seems?

Thanks in advance for insight.

I'm not an expert on this, but I think it has to do with helping tone down possible sandbaggers.  It also could be like you said because they are best balls and they don't want guys double popping on a lot of holes.

I played in a big 3 day tournament at my club, which they used 50% of the LOW H.I. for the year and 50% of the last revision.

This way a guy who was a 12 (Half is 6) and now has gone up to an 18 (Half is 9), will play at a 15 for the tournament.

I don't know either, but I'll take a stab ... assuming that it's something like bowling.  In bowling, if you used 100% handicaps, it is a really big advantage to less skilled bowlers.  For example, a guy with a 220 average can have a good game and get a 250.  A guy with a 100 average can string a couple strikes or spares together and get a 150.  Thus, bowling tournaments and leagues are usually handicapped at 80% or 90% of X (210, 220, whatever).  Maybe golf is similar, and they are trying to at least make sure that the more skilled golfer isn't at a DIS advantage.

If that isn't it ... then I have no idea. ;)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, people were having a little fun with me.  I got another new one tho :)