IGNORED

25 years of slicing

Note: This thread is 3898 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a first time poster, so I thank everyone in advance for your patience with this:

I've been playing golf for over 25 years and play approximately 3-4 times per year.  Not nearly often enough to be good, in other words.

For the past 25 years I have been slicing and/or pushing the ball from the tee about 85% of the time.  The only consistency in my drives is that the ball almost always goes about the same distance and lands in about the same place every time (on the driving range), which is between 2:00 and 2:30 (if 12 o'clock is straight down the fairway).  I never, ever use my driver on the course.  I always use a 3 wood because as bad as the 3 wood can be, it's far worse with the driver.

I have tried repositioning my feet, starting with my hips pointed to the left, repositioning the ball in my stance, altering my grip, shortening my backswing, etc.  My brain knows to square the clubface, to swing inside to out, etc. It simply doesn't translate to the swing.

So far, the only thing that works consistently is to use an off-set driver I started using this year. With the off-set driver I hit very well and consistently straight.

That being said, I don't want to have to rely on a 'crutch' like that.

So:  do I give up on improving my swing and accept life with the off-set driver, or what?

I haven't taken any lessons because I'm not sure a lesson would help.  Which is why I'm asking.

First welcome to the forums.

Lessons would help.  You have tried to correct it for 25 years by yourself and that didn't seem to work, try a lesson.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades