IGNORED

I've got a case of the hooks....

crperry
Note: This thread is 3896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I recently went in for my first few lessons after playing for a few years and developing on my own. I'm an 8 handicap now and the lessons really helped me improve my game. Nothing changed drastically just a few grip and posture fixes. The last few times out I've had a terrible hook. To the point it looks like I'm just learning the game. I'm taking huge divots and hitting the ground before the ball way worse than I used to. If I don't hook it, I hit it fat. This is completely opposite of the direction my game was headed and I don't understand what happened to my swing over such a short time period. Please help before my friends start calling me Captain Hook....

Assuming your grip isn't too strong, focus on a good hip turn. Hard to come over top with good hip turn. Downswing is started with turning hips, then shoulders, arms, hands in that order. As long as I make good hip turn, neutral grip, and swing down target line, then I keep from hooking.

Originally Posted by crperry

I recently went in for my first few lessons after playing for a few years and developing on my own. I'm an 8 handicap now and the lessons really helped me improve my game. Nothing changed drastically just a few grip and posture fixes.

The last few times out I've had a terrible hook. To the point it looks like I'm just learning the game. I'm taking huge divots and hitting the ground before the ball way worse than I used to. If I don't hook it, I hit it fat. This is completely opposite of the direction my game was headed and I don't understand what happened to my swing over such a short time period.

Please help before my friends start calling me Captain Hook....