IGNORED

Is this the proper weight shift?

Note: This thread is 3892 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,  I have been playing golf for about two years now and I used to shoot in the 100s and through hard work I have been able to keep it in the mid 80s (I haven't changed my handicap yet! Lol).  Here lately I have been consumed with learning the proper weight shift to try and gain some distance ( I only hit my 5-iron about 175 yards consistently.)  However I was on the range yesterday and I think I discovered something.  I was hitting my 7-iron and I focused on "stepping" down or pressing down on the ground with my left foot  rather than focusing on bumping my hips to left.  ( I am a right handed golfer).  I was wondering if this is the desirable weight shift technique or was this instance just a fluke?  I hope me describing the weight shift made sense to you all because I was having a hard to time to trying to come up with a way to describe it. Lol.

Thanks all!!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfer20

I was hitting my 7-iron and I focused on "stepping" down or pressing down on the ground with my left foot  rather than focusing on bumping my hips to left.  ( I am a right handed golfer).  I was wondering if this is the desirable weight shift technique or was this instance just a fluke?

Not a fluke!  Yes that's very much how we like to describe the downswing weight/pressure shift.  We call it Key #2, more on that below.  I would also recommend making sure the left foot is turned out, makes it much easier to do the "stepping down" move.

http://thesandtrap.com/t/61376/5sk-video-thread#post_791160

http://thesandtrap.com/t/55426/introducing-five-simple-keys

Notice how these golfer's left foot is turned out, allowing the left knee to flex and add pressure into the ground.