IGNORED

Handicap trends and competition

skywaterbanjo
Note: This thread is 3842 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I worked really hard (lots of practice, lessons, etc.) to get my handicap below 10 this year.  I've been playing golf for 9 years and that was my goal.  So, now that I am (was until today) a 7.8, I felt really good.

However, I play in a couple of men's groups each week.  I turned into the lowest handicap in the group.  Most are in the 12-21 range.  I now find that to win a skin (net) or even to be on a winning team (2 low net out of 4) is nearly impossible, no matter how well I shoot.  One of the high hc'ers has a great day and I no longer feel competitive.  Even the pro at our shop says it is very hard for a low hc'er to effectively compete with the high ones.  I love playing with these guys because they are so nice but I'm frustrated losing every week.

Anyone else experience this and, if so, what did you do about it?  Switch groups?  Don't bet?

Thanks

Mark in Colorado

Mark in Colorado