IGNORED

Inconsistent contact and no distance on my irons

RFKFREAK
Note: This thread is 3837 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello.

I'm new to the site and wanted to see if anyone might be able to give me some advice.

I'm 37 years old, 6'2", and weight roughly 265 and would consider myself overweight but not massively so and used to be fairly athletic.

I just started playing golf this year in March with a starter set that I bought 6 or 7 years ago.  I've been keeping track of my scores (roughly 25 rounds) and if I did the math correctly, I'm a 36 handicap and have had numerous rounds on par 4 holes where I put up an 8 or worse.  I've never really been able to consistently make good contact with my irons, have fade my driver for most of the season, and only recently have I been hitting my woods fairly well.  I've been going to the range roughly once or twice a week after work and usually get a round in once a weekend.

Two weekends ago I achieved my one goal for the season of shooting a round under 100 (96).  Then this past weekend I played and shot a miserable 125.

So, I watched some youtube videos to try and figure out how to make consistent contact and hit the range today.

It went terribly wrong.  I concentrated mostly on my 8, 6, and 5 irons.  I chunked the ball more times than I want to count and topped the ball a few times, as well.

The longest I hit my 5 iron was 158 yards; my 6 iron 164 yards, and my 8 iron 132 yards.

I feel for my size, I probably should be hitting way further and wonder if the youtube vids just messed me up with respect to contact.  That said, I never really felt I've done a good job getting distance from my irons.  Earlier this year, I was hitting my 7 iron an average of 150 yards.