I guess I just don't understand why the penalty for that infraction is DQ (especially since in that case she wasn't gaining an advantage since she signed for a higher score) but the penalty for breaking a different rule 29 times over two different days is just the applicable penalty strokes simply because the golfer "didn't know the rules".
I get that they are completely different rules about completely different scenarios, I just don't think it's right that a golfer can break the same rule 29 times over 2 different rounds and not be DQ'ed simply because they didnt know they were breaking a rule.
To that point, let's say there was a newer golfer in a tournament and he hit multiple balls out of bounds throughout the round but played them as red staked hazards because he didn't know any better, but then it was discovered after the round and after signing the scorecard that he had played them as such, does that mean he would only get the applicable penalty strokes added to his score instead of being DQ'ed simply because he didn't know it was a rule that white stakes are treated differently than red stakes? That doesn't seem right IMO.
Somewhat replying to the OP. I am not part of any club, league, or any other governing body so I just keep mine in a ODS file that I update after each round. I use the actual calculations and take ESC into account as well. This is the first year that I have played more than one round since I was in my teens (31 now), and the first year ever taking it seriously. Sitting at 19.3, but hoping that next year I can finish it out below 15 for sure.
I’ve got a small 10x8 artificial turf green in my backyard, slopes off on all sides so that the flat area is about 6x6, that I use for short game practice, especially 30-50 yard shots. Tough green to hold, but it has helped my short game loads. Does anybody else have something like this in their yard?
I’ve been playing this game for about a year, and have gotten to the point where my average is around 73, but I recently shot a 71-74 in a tournament that just ended Monday. Sounds good, but round pars were 69 and 68 respectively, so it was an 8-over total.