Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Blitz28179

Marking Another Player's Ball

Note: This thread is 2344 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

6 posts / 907 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

In pro golf I seen phil the thrill mark another players ball in the china tourney.I was surprised,I thought that wasnt allowed or would be frowned upon on the tour.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so. 20-1. Lifting And Marking A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so.

20-1. Lifting And Marking

A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

I do it fairly often when senior players are in our group, just to save them the trouble. One day I marked the same person's ball 5 times during the round with a quarter and each time he put the quarter in his pocket. I'm pretty sure he didn't even realize he was keeping my quarters and since he's a really nice guy I didn't have the heart to ask for my 5 quarters back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shorty

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

Two whole years? ;-)

I've been watching the pros for 40 years, and I have seen it before.  It's rare for them because they have caddies, and they usually get to the green together, or at least close enough that it's not necessary.  I've seen it before when one player had to wait on a ruling for his approach while his fellow competitor played and went straight to the green.  The FC was away once both balls were on the green, and was ready to putt before the delayed player got to the green, so he signaled his intent, got permission, and lifted the FC's ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2344 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...