Jump to content
IGNORED

Should Divots Be Considered Ground Under Repair?


Foursum Golf

Should divot holes be considered GUR under the Rules of Golf?  

129 members have voted

  1. 1. Should divot holes be considered GUR under the Rules of Golf?



Recommended Posts

12 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You must have steadier hands than I do. 200.gif

Technology always helps. :-)

 

Steadi-One-600x275-1.jpg

  • Funny 1

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
2 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You must have steadier hands than I do. 200.gif

407B2974-2DBD-4C4D-A633-9733BB4A59B1.gif
 

But this is my shooting hand!

I’ve encountered some weird lies this year. Today, my ball was on a stick. I had to punch it out of some pine straw and took a chance with a 5 iron. It went pretty well, about 30 yards. Best thing is I made the up and down from 110.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 months later...

My opinion, you should NOT have to hit out of a divot "if" your ball is clearly and undeniably in the fairway.  Why should anyone be penalized for being in the fairway?  I would consider it a penalty due to part of the ball  sitting in a depression created by another golfer.   The argument can be very subjective but I think this is one of the most archaic rules in golf.  If you can play ball in hand all day due to wet conditions then you should not be forced to play your ball from a divot.   

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
1 hour ago, TL308 said:

My opinion, you should NOT have to hit out of a divot "if" your ball is clearly and undeniably in the fairway.  Why should anyone be penalized for being in the fairway?  I would consider it a penalty due to part of the ball  sitting in a depression created by another golfer.   The argument can be very subjective but I think this is one of the most archaic rules in golf.  If you can play ball in hand all day due to wet conditions then you should not be forced to play your ball from a divot.   

Did you read any of the previous pages?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

34 minutes ago, iacas said:

Did you read any of the previous pages?

Not every single one.  I read the first couple pages where people stated the rule should not be changed so I was just stating my opinion.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, TL308 said:

Why should anyone be penalized for being in the fairway? 

When you slice your drive out to the trees and it hits one and bounces back into the fairway…should you go place it back in the woods?

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Vinsk said:

When you slice your drive out to the trees and it hits one and bounces back into the fairway…should you go place it back in the woods?

No, you only should get relief from bad luck, not good luck.

/s

-Peter

  • Driver: :cobra: King F9
  • 3W: :ping: G410
  • 3H: :titleist: 818 H1
  • Irons: :srixon: ZX5 4-AW
  • Wedges: :cleveland:  RTX Zipcore 54 & 58
  • Putter: L.A.B. Golf Directed Force 2.1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, TL308 said:

Not every single one.  I read the first couple pages where people stated the rule should not be changed so I was just stating my opinion.

Your response was replied to many many times.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I remember seeing a pro (too long ago for my feeble brain to remember who, when, where, or why) was in some kind of contest and intentionally placed his ball in the previous golfers divot. My take-away on it was that he actually preferred the lie.  I just always have thought "Play the ball where it lies" was the rule.  Unless local rules have specific exceptions. 🙂

 

In my bag: Cobra Bio Cell 10.5º driver ;  Cobra Bio Cell 3w;  Mizuno MP H4 3 - PW;  Mizuno MP T4 52º GW, 56º SW, 60º LW
Favorite ball Titleist Pro-V
One HIO....LUCK.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, metbid said:

I remember seeing a pro (too long ago for my feeble brain to remember who, when, where, or why) was in some kind of contest and intentionally placed his ball in the previous golfers divot. My take-away on it was that he actually preferred the lie.  I just always have thought "Play the ball where it lies" was the rule.  Unless local rules have specific exceptions. 🙂

 

Play the ball as it lies is the rule----------unless its a very wet course and you can lift, clean, and place.  Or if your ball comes to rest in an area considered ground under repair and you get a free drop, etc.  I respect the rule.  I just disagree with it.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, TL308 said:

Play the ball as it lies is the rule----------unless its a very wet course and you can lift, clean, and place.  Or if your ball comes to rest in an area considered ground under repair and you get a free drop, etc.  I respect the rule.  I just disagree with it.  

Even with LCP the ball would be returned to the divot, would it not?

Stuart M.
 

I am a "SCRATCH GOLFER".  I hit ball, Ball hits Tree, I scratch my head. 😜

Driver: Ping G410 Plus 10.5* +1* / 3 Hybrid: Cleveland HIBORE XLS / 4,5 & 6 Hybrids: Mizuno JP FLI-HI / Irons/Wedges 7-8-9-P-G: Mizuno JPX800 HD / Sand Wedge: Mizuno JPX 800 / Lob Wedge: Cleveland CBX 60* / Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S / Balls: Srixon Soft / Beer: Labatt Blue (or anything nice & cold) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

33 minutes ago, StuM said:

Even with LCP the ball would be returned to the divot, would it not?

Rule 14.1 seems to indicate this.  Multiple courses I have caddied at or was a member of designate it as within 6 inches.  Over the winter when my home course is frequently under water you are allowed within one club length as long as you don’t change the conditions (moving from rough to fairway).

—Adam

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
38 minutes ago, StuM said:

Even with LCP the ball would be returned to the divot, would it not?

No.

Almost it’ll specify a distance.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, StuM said:

Even with LCP the ball would be returned to the divot, would it not?

 

43 minutes ago, imsys0042 said:

Rule 14.1 seems to indicate this.  Multiple courses I have caddied at or was a member of designate it as within 6 inches.  Over the winter when my home course is frequently under water you are allowed within one club length as long as you don’t change the conditions (moving from rough to fairway).

This is most commonly handled using some form of Model Local Rule E-3, which suggests defining a Relief Area in which to place the ball.  Also note that E-3 specifies placing the ball in the General Area, no problem moving from rough to fairway.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 3/15/2021 at 6:50 PM, Billy Z said:

No, I don't think I have changed my mind, I would like to see a rules changed. In a forum, you have a unique selection of golfers, not necessarily a good sample of all who play the game. In a forum you have folks who change their putter on a weekly basis as opposed to golfers who use one putter for many years. In other words, people in here get very picky about varying aspects and rules of the game. I wouldn't be surprised if a poll were taken that would reflect 'all golfers' opinions, that showed more of an interest to change the rule then not. The reference to embedded was just a bit of tongue-in-cheek, but seriously, I will go out on a limb and say the majority of golfers think the rule should be changed. Just for further conversation, I do think some flight paths are more conducive to plugging.

You have got to be joking, right.  Divots are part of the course and you play it as you find it.  Plugged balls and casual water are not normal parts of the course and that is why you get relief for it.

Your poll will wind with a huge number of players saying exactly this

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Taylor Made Rescue 2H (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, pganapathy said:

You have got to be joking, right.  Divots are part of the course and you play it as you find it.  Plugged balls and casual water are not normal parts of the course and that is why you get relief for it.

Your poll will wind with a huge number of players saying exactly this

You replied to a now-banned member from a post in March. 🙂

Many others said the same thing back in March.

  • Funny 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is this a commonly misconstrued rule with recreational golfers? Ball plugged to divot would be what I am alluding to. 

:sunmountain: 2.5 + stand bag                          
:callaway: Mavrik driver
 :ping: hybrid 20  
:tmade: M2 3HL                                                          :pxg: 0211 6-gw

 :vokey:54

:scotty_cameron:
:true_linkswear:- The Original

:clicgear:

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • And yet the NFL and NCAA exist and the others do not. So who really won? No damages awarded? Pyrrhic victory at best. LIV only exists to try and take the PGAT down. They will fail as the others did. Your argument is still very weak.
    • Day 59 (12 Aug 22) a rainy inside day, worked on lag putts from about 15’ and chipping whiffle balls into a small bucket (the latter is a constant game with the grandson - he was my chipping partner today).  
    • Day 284, August 12, 2022 Played Nicholas Memorial GC in WV on my way to NC.
    • You can search the topic, and yes, it has been mentioned. Recently. Not the PGA Tour's fault that there's no "meaningful choice." Plus the word "meaningful" is doing a lot of heavy lifting there. They have a choice. They have several choices. PGA Tour players make about the same percentage of what their sport creates as players in other sports. Golf is a niche sport. It's not the freaking NFL. It's not even the NHL. The law hasn't spoken on this. So, no, not "regardless of the law." And, let's remember, the TRO was denied. If the judge felt the suspensions were not legal, that would have played a role in her granting the TRO.
    • All my irons, 5-9, are about 2 degree stronger than normal.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Allan Hazelrigg
      Allan Hazelrigg
      (73 years old)
    2. Chrilkm
      Chrilkm
      (20 years old)
    3. electech
      electech
      (68 years old)
    4. MilitaryTeeTime
      MilitaryTeeTime
      (56 years old)
    5. Raymer
      Raymer
      (63 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...