IGNORED

Playing bad golf, how to keep motivated?

Golf-A-Million
Note: This thread is 3755 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Ok guy's, Here is my story. I started playing golf when I was 17 and got the usual 18handicap. Over the next 10yrs I loved golf and got down to 10 but always enjoyed golf as it was with a group of friends. When I got to 27yrs old we had all gone our separate ways and then it was a matter of playing with anyone you could on a Sunday morning to get my golf in. Slowly fell out of love with golf and really did not enjoy it for 4-5years and drifted out to 14 handicap. Then for 5 years I had a back problem and played very little but when I did I really did not enjoy it as it frustrated the hell out of me. I am very competitive so I end up starting badly and then just lose interest and get angry with the bad golf.

Anyway I re-joined my local club in September and got a 14 handicap again. Since then I have played about 8 rounds as I don't have a lot of time and again really struggled with Enjoying golf. I really look forward to playing but when I step on the course and start playing rubbish I end up hating golf. Last week I was playing with 2 strangers and I started of on the front 9 with 8 points. Then one of the guys said let play for the coffee and cakes on the back 9. Low on behold I par the next 4 and really get into it, eventually winning the back 9 by 1 shot. (other two golfers played off 5 and 11).

How do I enjoy golf again and especially how do I enjoy it when playing badly?

I do know how lucky I am to be able to get out in the fresh air and spend 4 hours walking around enjoying the world around me but I really struggle with enjoying the actual golf.