IGNORED

Left Hand Low Putting

JP1111
Note: This thread is 3153 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a right handed player. My putting isn't terrible but I often get a bit "handsy" on short putts which results in me dragging a lot of them to the left. It's been suggested to me that gripping the putter with my hands the other way around may help. I have tried it out and it seems okay if a little strange and I intend to carry on experimenting. Has anyone else tried this and what were the results?

i have been putting left hand low for probably 7 years now.  i found that i was blasting my putts way past the hole with a conventional grip and that when i went to the LHL grip i was able to control my distance better.

i still have a weird loop in my putting backswing.

Colin P.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Only know of two good putters to put this way Harrington and my brother, tried it myself and really didn't improve thing much in the long term, my recommendation is to get a belly putter practice with it then try to get the same feel of the stroke with ur conventional putter

I putt left hand low.  I've done it so long (since 2002-ish with a short putter and a belly putter) that I can't putt worth a lick with a traditional right hand low grip.  I guess that goes to show that when I switched to it, I never looked back.  For me, LHL makes it easier to grip the club with a flat left wrist and to simply maintain that FLW throughout.

Based on a quick online search, it seems the two main advantages of LHL are 1) it can help to square up the shoulders and 2) it can make it easier to remove wrist action in the stroke.  Apparently, the folks say it can make you better at shorter putts.  The drawback I saw listed online was difficulty with lag putting.