Sign in to follow this  
putt and pray

7/9 wood vs 3/4 iron vs 3/4 hybrid?

Note: This thread is 1582 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

7 posts / 21900 viewsLast Reply

Im a beginner golfer who picked up some used clubs, including a 7 and 9 wood. I REALLY like the 9 wood on Par 3 tee shots but I dont like the 7 wood. Should I try and replace it with a 3 iron or hybrid? Just skip having a "3 iron" distance club all together? Or would it be too "weird" to have a 3 iron and then a 9 wood and then a 5 iron...

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Just a quick question what roughly what distance do you hit 9 wood, 7 wood and  three iron.

The reason I ask is par 3's vary a lot in there distance.

This is just my opinion but I wouldn't recommend hitting your higher woods instead of the irons, the reason for this is it is harder to control them and also to get back spin on them. The problem comes in when you want to hit the green and stop on it. You should also find when you have have been playing for a while you will will be able to hit your irons with more control than your woods. I am not that good a golfer and usually hit a 7-5 iron on most par 3's.

If you want a club to replace the 3 iron(which is quite hard to hit as a new golfer), something like a 4 hybrid is quite a nice option. That is what I do and I find the hybrid is much easier to hit out of the rough then the 3 iron or the lower woods. Very few people actually play with anything higher than a 5 wood now days and the only wood I carry is a 3 wood. It is quite difficult to hit a fairway wood if you are not on the fairway.