IGNORED

Take out 2/3/4 irons?

Note: This thread is 3691 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So I had a lesson today, and the Pro told me " nobody plays 2/3 irons anymore." Then he told me to take the 2/3/4 iron out of my bag completely. Mind you, he's never seen me hit a long iron. I really like the 2/3/4 irons honestly, but I'm a complete newbie. So my question is, do I shut my mouth and just remove the clubs or keep them? If I do remove them do I just replace my entire iron set? BTW I have 2-8, PW, SW all matching old Titleist Gold DCI Oversize +

I would listen to your Pro. you can change latter when you know how to hit the ball.

2/3 irons are rare. note that a 3 iron today has yesterdays 2 iron loft. playing a 2 iron is having a 3 iron in the bag.

- 2 irons are replaced by 5 woods or 3 hybrides. it's a 18-19° loft.

- 3 irons are after replaced by a 4 hybride. 21-22°

4 irons are still in use pretty often but few players hit it well enough to say it's a true 4 iron shot. about 24°.

hybrides and woods are easier for lower swing speeds. they also give the higher ball flight needed on modern courses that pitch less, roll more and have more frontal hazards.

This ai'nt the 80s anymore. Player that carry a 2 iron around here just do it for the show and it get's very ugly when out of the bag.

I agree with @bubble and your pro. Do you not have a 9-iron for your set, or is that a typo?

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades