IGNORED

Media Has Changed, but Golf Isn't as Bad as Other Sports!

Break80
Note: This thread is 3636 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

OK, full disclosure, I have a degree in Journalism, and spent 3 years as a sports writer before moving on to the wonderfully fulfilling world of Education.

But something happened yesterday that made me realize how much I truly hate today's media. At the NFL owner's meetings, Baltimore Ravens Head Coach (I'm a Baltimorean) sat down for a 1-on-1 interview with a reporter. And then throughout the day, there are maybe 10-12 small articles put out by the reporter. I realized, each article has 1 quote in it from Harbaugh, and then a handful of paragraphs playing off of that quote.

That got me thinking. When I went to school - which admittedly was before the 24-hour Social Media craze, but not that long before - reporters would scoop out a good story and then go to the athlete/coach to get a quote about that story. Now it seems there is very little reporting, and more waiting for an athlete/coach to say something, and then the reporters take that quick quote/soundbyte, and turn that into the story. Isn't that backwards?

It's not as bad in the world of golf, as it is with the NFL/NBA, but just last week Patrick Reed says he's a Top-5 player, and that one quote turns into nearly a week of stories. Really?????

If you look at golfchannel.com (or God forbid espn.com) a chunk of the "news" is a quote from an athlete about a topic or another athlete, and a full story revolving around that quote.

If I were a pro athlete in this day and age, I would be as tight-lipped (Tiger!!!) about as much as I possibly could. What good can come out of talking about anything, when it will probably be turned into a story?