IGNORED

short irons draw and long irons, wood, driver cut

Note: This thread is 3647 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So...I have been playing 18 holes once a week for the past 2-3 months but due to work schedule have not had much time to practice in between rounds. Scores have been pretty frustrating, 95-110 lately. Would love to break 90.

Within the past 10 days I have been able to carve out a few range sessions and have noticed the same thing happening, repeatedly. My sw,pw,6-9 are all decent draws but my 3-5, 3wood, driver are all hard cuts. I am not "intentionally" trying to do either but just wondering if this is somewhat common and if there is any good drills to help fix? (get the longer clubs drawing).

On the cut shots w/ longer clubs, contact feels and sounds solid but I would say about 40% of the time they cut too hard and would be flirting with ob on an actual course. Im also not sure if its a good idea to rely on only this shot with longer clubs? (not sarcasm a real question) I know there is a number of great players throughout the history of the game who played it but I would imagine in there cases the flight and curve of the ball were consistent and in their control.

Anyways - any help / suggestions would be appreciated!

Maybe coming over the top with the longer clubs..? Or, could you be holding on, i.e. where you kinda swing outward, but your hands are facing up and down..?  I'm just guessing here, as I'm no expert. Maybe post a swing with one of the longer clubs so folks could see what your doing.? anyhow, hope you get some good advice to fix that.  Oh, one other thing, are you griping the longer clubs the same, or are you gripping with a weak grip..?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades