Was in a group a few years ago that played every Wednesday and we did this same thing with net birdies every year. One year got to 16 of them, but couldn't get two of them that I didn't get strokes on. At least with this one, I get to count more than just Wednesday rounds...
I'm aware, but the post described choosing to forego two drops and immediately drop more than two club lengths from a penalty area. That is not in the rules.
And, in the cited example of a penalty area and a cart path, "back where you started" would never occur. Because relief from a cart path must be in the general area, not back in the penalty area.
It is in the Rules.
However, in such situations, the player may not, in a single procedure, concurrently take relief from two conditions by dropping a ball in a single relief area determined by a combined nearest point of complete relief from both conditions, except in the situation where the player has successively taken relief for interference from each condition and is essentially back where the player started.