You can be biased towards a candidate but evaluate the the debate with minimal bias. I won't ever, ever, ever vote for Hillary Clinton (unless it's to move to Syria) but I felt she won the debate last night.
Most of my equipment is pretty old, compared to the friends I play with. Irons are from 2011, driver 2010.
I recently went to try brand-new drivers, and none of them were any better than my 6-year-old Cobra S2:
The only thing I do wonder about is using "old" wedges, because of the worn grooves, but I doubt that even that makes a difference for someone at my skill level.
I get that.
But in this instance, the things that are different are that you know where the golf ball originally lie with a high degree of certainty.
If it's known that a spectator picks up your ball and runs away with it, even if you can't "find" the original ball (because the spectator went somewhere and can't be found), you're allowed to drop in the area where it was.
It's not satisfying to me either.
I wonder if 3-3 could be used that way. I'm inclined to think that it would be fine, but it's not really a question of how to proceed under the Rules… or is it?
Anyway, I'm intentionally going to kind of ignore that because it's not really what I'm hoping to discover in this thread, which is really the justification for the rule/decision. I can kinda see it, but I can never really get around to supporting it more than not.
How cool is that? And what a fine looking young man. I was more than happy to help, if just a little. Give him big congrats from us here at The Sand Trap, and by all means keep us posted. You just made my day.
I really can't wrap my head around this either.
I guess the only justification I can think of is that, to be fair, all outside agencies must be treated equally under the RoG. If a gopher picks up your ball and carries it 200 yards to the green, and you find it only after you dropped a second ball, you're out of luck. So, it must be treated the same for the FC.
But that's not very satisfying to me.
Alternately, any time an FC hits a ball from the same area, you could declare definitively that it WAS moved by an outside agency, because you are virtually certain that the FC just hit your ball. You then proceed to play two balls under Rule 3-3. If you're wrong, your second ball (which you took stroke-and-distance on) counts. If you turn out to be right, well, it was virtually certain that it was moved by an outside agency, since the proof is right there!