IGNORED

Hitting the driver consistently on face, but losing out on distance

Note: This thread is 3567 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I understand that it can be difficult to diagnose swing/technique over the internet, and that I need to go to a launch monitor - but I wanted to hear some thoughts on this. I have a R11S 12 degree head, and I've been playing around with different shaft lengths, moving the weights around, etc... and I think I have found a fairly consistent setup with a 44 inch Grafalloy Prolaunch Blue SC (regular flex). My swing radar shows I am averaging 90-92 mph. At the range though, I see an average drive of about 180-200 yards. The black clubface shows very consistent impact. If I hit 10-20 balls, I will see several ball marks that are almost superimposed over one another. It is hit just above the center line of the head, towards the center of the face. The ball flight is straight and high, but once it reaches the peak it just sort of dies and flops down with minimal roll. If the ground is hard, the ball will bounce hard and then stop. My problem is I *think* there might be too much spin, maybe there's too much loft, and my swing speed isn't that hot. But if I swing out of control, I will see a max of about 100 mph. 85-90 mph is more manageable. Right now, it is fairly consistent if my swing is ok - I could live with this, but my golfing buddies are driving 230-260 yards consistently and I'm just losing out on yardage. Any thoughts? If you recommend I get fit, where's the best place to do this at a reasonable cost? My goal is to drive it at the "proper" distance for my swing speed. If it helps, I use TMAG RocketBladez irons (regular flex, steel) and the 6 iron (which is really a 5 iron) yields 145 yards on average, but if I swing properly (and compress the ball with a divot ahead of th