IGNORED

Do ball types make that much difference to a high handicap player?

Note: This thread is 3486 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi I'm relatively new to the game. Been playing for just under a year. Normally I use used balls as have a tendancy to lose a couple or three a round lol. I am taking lessons and think my game has improved a lot lately especially since I got fitted for a new set of callaway X2 hots which I love and trust!! Basically would it help to improve my game if I used a specific type of ball? Thanks in advanceI

I only use tour quality balls because i want / need the ball to stop when it hits the green. I like the ablity to have chips and pitches check up, too. That's the main reason. When you get to the point where you find your balls rolling to the back of greens or over greens, then it's time to switch. Until then, the harder balls actually may be better for your game. A hard ball will create less spin, so it won't check up as well, but they also don't have as much side spin, so they'll go straighter. Also, hard balls will go farther when you smack them. They are also more durable. They are also cheaper. When you're paying a round and nobody is behind you, hit an extra Pro V1 or other tour quality ball into a green. See if you can tell any difference. You'll probably like the feel of the softer ball. If you can't make it check up, then stick to the harder balls until your game improves (which it will).