IGNORED

Teaching a Total Beginner

Note: This thread is 3541 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

As a follow-up to my earlier thread about clubs for a total beginner, now I'm curious what you guys all think about trying to get them started.

Picture an adult (if it matters, we're talking about women here) who has never had any interest in golf before, and they pick up a club for what I can only assume is probably the first time.  You are the only person that they know that is a golfer, so they immediately look at you and say "What do I do?"  You have them hold the club with a grip that feels comfortable, then tell them to put their hands together, and then have them hit the ball.  (I should've foreseen this and taken a video)  Posture is all out of whack, legs nearly locked, bent over at the waist, then the club is basically picked straight up, left arm bent to 100*, and then club hits top of ball, misses ball, hits ground 4 inches behind ball, etc, etc.  I think you've all seen it before.

I don't want to try and build them into a scratch golfer or anything, but I just want them to be able to make decent enough contact most of the time such that they enjoy themselves.  So what advice do you give?  Where do you start?

Thanks a bunch!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm in the same boat. My wife has also expressed interest and has asked me to take her to the range. He'll no. I'm having her take a few lessons from a great female instructor near by. I think the frustration on both our parts would just result in a bad situation and tarnish her desire to play. Harvey Penick has a great chapter in his Little Red Book about avoiding teaching a spouse how to golf.

As a follow-up to my earlier thread about clubs for a total beginner, now I'm curious what you guys all think about trying to get them started.