IGNORED

i think the local driving range lost my business

wolfpackguy
Note: This thread is 3541 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Okay is this normal business practices for a driving range? Remember I am pretty new to golf. Showed up at my local range today about 1 p.m. close to my home on the way to the course to hit a small bucket and loosen up before I played. This is a pretty narrow range and kind of rinky dink compared to most ranges but it is convenient and I have been there many times over the past few months. The owner is out on the range picking up balls manually and I wait for him to come up to the building. He gets there and asks me if I'm a good golfer to which I respond no far from it and laughingly tell him that "I have a lot of fun playing though". I think the guy is just trying to make conversation or offer to sell me lessons or something. But no, he asked this for a reason. He then asks me to walk up to the bays/mats (whatever you call them) with him, and tells me he is getting ready to mow the right side of the range and that I should make sure that under no circumstances any balls travel right of some imaginary line he had conjured up. As I mentioned before this is a pretty narrow range and even hitting from the farthest mat to the left, if my ball sliced right say an estimated 30 or 40 yards I would risk violating his "no fly zone". So I hit about half a small bucket with my 7-9 irons, not even really fully swinging in fear of a mishit. The whole point of me going was to make sure I got my driver dialed in before playing so I didn't slice badly on the course during my game. I was so irritated by the whole thing I just left the half bucket laying and left. Is this normal practice at 1 p.m. while a range is open for business? Personally if it was my business I would try to get mowing done