Jump to content
IGNORED

When ball on path, can i choose 'nearest point of relief'?


Note: This thread is 1971 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding this. To me, if there is a tree trunk or bush at the so-called NPR 1 cl where you will be dropping no nearer the hole - to me you aren't getting relief there because you can't make a drop or take a stance. So please explain why that would be the nearest point of relief and not on the opposite side of the cart path further from the hole where there is no such interference.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It depends on the permanence of the fence.  If they're just little wooden stakes pushed in the ground with string between them, then it's a movable obstruction and you ignore the fence and if your NPR

Those fences are always movable.  Just pull the two or three nearest posts out of the ground and lay them on the path to make sure the rope is out of your way.

In general, you take relief for one rule at a time.  If taking relief from one condition puts you into a position where you are entitled to relief under another rule, you then follow the procedure for

Posted Images

20 minutes ago, DrvFrShow said:

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding this. To me, if there is a tree trunk or bush at the so-called NPR 1 cl where you will be dropping no nearer the hole - to me you aren't getting relief there because you can't make a drop or take a stance. So please explain why that would be the nearest point of relief and not on the opposite side of the cart path further from the hole where there is no such interference.

24-2b/3 

Player Determines Nearest Point of Relief But Physically Unable to Play Intended Stroke

Q.In proceeding under Rule 24-2b(i) or Rule 25-1b(i), the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" provides that to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club, address position, direction of play and swing (right or left-handed) that he would have used to make his next stroke had the obstruction or condition not been there. What is the procedure if, having determined the stroke he would have used, he is unable physically to make such a stroke from, what would appear to be, the nearest point of relief because either (a) the direction of play is blocked by a tree, or (b) he is unable to take the backswing for the intended stroke due to a bush?

A.The point identified is the nearest point of relief. The fact that at this point the player cannot make the intended stroke due to something other than the obstruction or condition from which relief is being taken does not alter this result. The player must drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole. Once the ball is in play, the player must then decide what type of stroke he will make. This stroke may be different from the one he would have made from the ball's original position had the obstruction or condition not been there.

Edited by Rulesman
Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, DrvFrShow said:

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding this. To me, if there is a tree trunk or bush at the so-called NPR 1 cl where you will be dropping no nearer the hole - to me you aren't getting relief there because you can't make a drop or take a stance. So please explain why that would be the nearest point of relief and not on the opposite side of the cart path further from the hole where there is no such interference.

Rule 24-2 guarantees that you will no longer have interference from the cart path after taking relief, but does not guarantee that you will have a playable position after you take relief from the cart path.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, DrvFrShow said:

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding this. To me, if there is a tree trunk or bush at the so-called NPR 1 cl where you will be dropping no nearer the hole - to me you aren't getting relief there because you can't make a drop or take a stance. So please explain why that would be the nearest point of relief and not on the opposite side of the cart path further from the hole where there is no such interference.

The point is to get relief from the cart path (or whatever), not to have a perfect lie or an unobstructed stance.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, DrvFrShow said:

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding this. To me, if there is a tree trunk or bush at the so-called NPR 1 cl where you will be dropping no nearer the hole - to me you aren't getting relief there because you can't make a drop or take a stance. So please explain why that would be the nearest point of relief and not on the opposite side of the cart path further from the hole where there is no such interference.

To sum it up, taking relief from an obstruction or from abnormal ground doesn't hold any assurance of relief from any other condition.  I've played many shots over the years from concrete, asphalt, and gravel cart paths when the only "relief" at the NPR would be virtually unplayable.  

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Really, the place where people are getting hung up in this question is the word "choose." You're almost never making a choice; you're identifying the one NPR that is objectively correct for that particular situation. It's the one closest point in space that satisfies all of the conditions for relief in the rules and it doesn't care about whether it's a good option for the player.

Of course, once you have the NPR identified, you have a narrow range of choice of where to drop within one or two club-lengths, as prescribed under the particular rule.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, dkolo said:

Of course, once you have the NPR identified, you have a narrow range of choice of where to drop within one or two club-lengths, as prescribed under the particular rule.

I can't find a rule which gives you 2 cl when NPR is involved.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 1971 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • The round I played yesterday was the first time when both my SG:D and SG:A were better than the 10 handicap level.  That's pretty good, especially since I know what I need to work on in terms of long game (and that has been improving a bit, too). 
    • Day 70 (6/13/21) - My wife filmed me taking swings with an 8-iron and Driver (w/o a ball) in the backyard. Positions seemed pretty good in the backswing, but in the downswing, I noticed that I have a tendency to let the club open up as I started down, thus requiring a correction at impact. Based on this information, I did several more swings focusing on keeping the clubface square to my line throughout the swing. Will work on ingraining this feeling again tomorrow. 
    • Every other weekend I play a modified version of match play with a friend of mine.  We play all 18.  Today I lost 8 to 6.  However...we also keep a cart score:  the winning/tying score, each hole, being the cart score for that hole.   Our previous low cart score had been +4.  This morning we managed a +3.  
    • Whoever chose this course (me) should be punished. And @georgep too. Apologies.
    • I recorded my swing in face on and down the line and have uploaded it here. Please critique and provide feedback. Appreciate your time on this! Thanks! 11 HCP. 8 Iron. Looking to optimize swing and learn to score in Golf.  
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. akGolfa
      akGolfa
      (27 years old)
    2. B-F-G
      B-F-G
      (54 years old)
    3. Chickma2
      Chickma2
      (47 years old)
    4. griefrev
      griefrev
      (64 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...