Jump to content
IGNORED

How'd you get the 12?


Note: This thread is 5028 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Was on the practice green yesterday and heard a couple of guys talking as they walked off the 9th green. One of them asks "How'd you get a 12?" The other guy says, "Well I was in the water twice, then I hit in the rough. So I'm lying 5. Skulled one shot, then I had a whiff. Now I'm lying 7. Hit into the bunker, then bladed it. (lying 9) Chipped on and 2 putted.

Kind of makes me feel better about the triple I had on that hole last week.
Link to post
Share on other sites

i had a 13 on a par 3 once.. no lie. right after a birdie, then followed by a par.


went like this: two tee shots into the woods. hitting 5 off the tee... hit 6 from the front right rough near a bunker and skulled it to the back of the green in the rough. flubbed #7 and #8 chips onto the collar, somehow needed another two chips to put it near the pin (#9 and #10) and somehow a 3 putt from 12 feet.

edit: honestly... i wasn't even mad. after all, how can you not laugh at that? haha
Link to post
Share on other sites

I got a 21 on the first hole of The Willows once...

It was about two months ago, it's a 380 yard par 4, dog leg left and up a hill. Usually it's my screwup hole if I don't warm up. Well, this was an extreme example...

Four consecutive duck-hooks into the woods. (1, 3, 5, 7)
Massive push-fade into the trees on the right, but it's in play. (9)
3 iron to nowhere. Hit a tree and dropped dead. (10)
8 iron off the back side of the green and next to a tree. (11)
Pitched the ball too hard and rolled off the other side into the trap. (12)
Skulled the sand shot over the green. (13)
Skulled a 60 degree wedge 30 yards over the green and into the cabbage. (14)
Hacked it out of the cabbage. (15)
Chili-dipped the sand wedge into the same bunker. (16)
Two flubbed shots in the sand. I was afraid of going across again. (17, 18).
Chipped it up finally. (19)
Two putt from 12 feet. (20, 21)

The kicker? I went birdie, eagle, birdie, quad on the next four holes. Shot a 34 for the other 8 holes.

As it was, I took an ESC 7 in the clubhouse, and walked away with a respectable 41 for 9 holes.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I remember a John Daly press conference a couple of years ago when a reporter asked daly how he got a 12 on a hole. He just looked right at the reporter straight faced and said "I was on in 11 and one putted". Classic.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I hope there were no groups behind you while this was going on?

I don't think there was. If there was anyone though, they'd have a stroke watching me fall apart, and not be alive to witness my being 4 under for the next 3 holes.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you guys never heard of Equitable Stroke Control??

You are still supposed to play out the hole, and your score is your score. You adjust it when you enter your round for handicap purposes. Your score is still your score.

Link to post
Share on other sites

You are still supposed to play out the hole, and your score is your score. You adjust it when you enter your round for handicap purposes. Your score is still your score.

Sox Fan, I'm not familiar with ESC....is that a triple bogey maximum? And you are supposed to do this for your Handicap purposes?????

Oh my God, that's the best news I've heard ALL WEEK!!!!! Here's my 12 on a Par 4: -Otis Brown (OB) on my tee shot...Hitting 3 -Otis Brown near the green in 3....shooting 5 -Chili Dip my Lob Wedge -Plug my Lob Wedge under the lip of the bunker....don't know HOW it got there. -4 (FOUR) to get out of this stupid lie in the bunker (2 of those shots were probably my POOR decisons). -2 putt.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless you are in a tournament or other competition which requires a total score, you should pick it up and move to the next hole when you get to your max. Playing out to 12 is a recipe for slow play.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless you are in a tournament or other competition which requires a total score, you should pick it up and move to the next hole when you get to your max. Playing out to 12 is a recipe for slow play.

bcp, you have a good point, but you are wrong. Sure, if you are playing a busy course on a Saturday morning, you should probably pick up when you start getting into the double digits, But, this isn't the rule, and a player shouldn't feel obligated to pick up. Especially if they are out at a time when they aren't going to hold anyone else up. You should keep taking strokes until you get the ball in the hole. How else is a high handicap / beginner player ever going to finish a round and get a complete score if they pick up every time they get to 9 strokes on a hole? You've got to start somewhere.

Here is a direct quote from the USGA website -
ESC is applied

Link to post
Share on other sites

Was on the practice green yesterday and heard a couple of guys talking as they walked off the 9th green. One of them asks "How'd you get a 12?" The other guy says, "Well I was in the water twice, then I hit in the rough. So I'm lying 5. Skulled one shot, then I had a whiff. Now I'm lying 7. Hit into the bunker, then bladed it. (lying 9) Chipped on and 2 putted.

John Daly posted a big score at Palmer's tournament a few years ago. One of the greats posted an 11 on a par-4 at the LA Open one year, when it was held at Rancho Park. There's a plate on the tee commemorating it. I need to take a picture at some point -- I just need to play on a weekend, so I know there will be a wait at the tee.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5028 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • In these kind of situations, it is often the message from the top or lack of it that sets the tone. The head of the league, outing or other event needs to make it clear the rules are to be followed and if there are any conditions outside the ordinary. You'll always have cheaters, but failing to make expectations clear allows Joe Amateur to use his imagination.
    • Played the weekly clubtournament yesterday: A stableford tournament from the yellows (6300 yards, Rated 72,7, slope 147) Shot 86 (36 stableford points). A pretty good round, but it was far from a perfect round.  Positives: - No lost balls (despite hitting one in the creek on 8 (found it, but had to take the penalty and a drop there) - Played solid through the 2 hardest stretches on the course. Hole 5-7 (+1) and hole 13-14 (E) - Birdie on the tough 13 (390 yards par 4 playing into wind  with a narrow teeshot and the approach playing 15 yards downhill) after a good drive (275 yards) into the wind to the right side of the fairway and a perfect soft AW from 120 that landed a foot short of the pin and jumped a couple of feet back to 3 feet. That shot looked like it was going in. - Only hit 3/13 fairways, but none of the missed fairways was by more than 5 yards and only one cost me a shot (on 16 where I had to chip it back to the fairway). So all my misses were pretty much in the right places.  - Hit 8 greens (14 nGIRs). Good, but not great.  - The round took my index south of 10,0, so new my new index is now 9,9 Negatives:  - The par 3s - shot +7 on the 5 par 3s, which is the worst I've done so far this season. Managed to shoot a 5 on hole 4 (205 yards into wind yesterday) without using my putter and without penalties. Duffed the teeshot 130 yards short and a little bit right, shanked the next shot into the left greenside bunker, hit the first bunkershot fat and still found my self in the sand, thinned the next bunkershot and flew it over the green and holed the 15 yards chip from there for a 5 and 0 stableford points. To a lot of amusement for everyone in my flight. The 6 i shot on hole 8 (180 yards uphill with wind from behind and left) was quite forgettable: Pulled my 8'iron slightly and flew it over the green right into the creek there, penalty drop, chipped it to 15 feet from there and needed 3 putts to hole it (found the ball in the creek(Y) ).  - Struggled with the speed on a 15 footer (sent it 6 feet past on 8 ) and 40 footer (left it 12 feet short on 14) , which I normally don't struggle with. Putting was good apart from those 2 and were the only 3-putts I made. On both those putts it felt wrong in the backswing and I still didn't abort the swing. Need to work on that.  33 putts total is not great, but is acceptable with the chances I gave myself on the greens. - A little inconsistant with my longer chips, needs to get them a little closer. This is a part of the game I have been very good at lately and this was not my best round around the greens. Only 2 1-putts after chipping and one holeout. Should do better.   
    • After a decent round yesterday i finally reached goal number 1 this season: HCP-index: 9,9.  Now let's keep it there or lower. 
    • You really need to call out your cheating partner.  Never allow it to continue.  Otherwise you will either get bitter about it or refuse to play with him.
    • Or wager against them, but watch them closely and play strict rules.  After all, their handicaps are probably treating their concessions as sunk. Three players in my club's match play qualifier were DQ'd for taking gimmes during the qualifier.  Those are a no-no when it's medal play for a match play qualifier. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. benharris
      benharris
      (29 years old)
    2. Erik Tedfelt
      Erik Tedfelt
      (26 years old)
    3. ForcedCarry21
      ForcedCarry21
      (30 years old)
    4. hlan
      hlan
      (36 years old)
    5. Hookman
      Hookman
      (29 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...