Jump to content
IGNORED

Irish Retiree Could Face $630,000 Bill After Losing Sandbagging Lawsuit


Note: This thread is 2318 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Moderator

From Golf.com

Read more: http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/irish-retiree-faces-630k-legal-bills-after-losing-lawsuit-over-handicap-dispute#ixzz3GyUmr338

Wonder how much money he won sandbagging all those years?

rish Retiree Could Face $630,000 Bill After Losing Sandbagging Lawsuit

By Marika Washchyshyn,

Follow Marika on Twitter.

Published: Wednesday, October 22, 2014 | 03:44:17 PM | Comments (2)

inShare0

COURTESY OF IRISH INDEPENDENT

Thomas Talbot arriving at the High Court for a 2012 hearing.

An Irish retiree who sued his golf club for accusing him of sandbagging could face legal bills of more than $630,000.

In the bizarre case reported by the Irish Times, Thomas Talbot, 76, sued the Hermitage Golf Club of Lucan, Dublin, former handicap secretary Eddie Murphy, and the Golfing Union of Ireland in 2012 for allegedly calling him a cheat.

Talbot said he was sent a certificate by the club’s handicap subcommittee stating his handicap was reduced by 7.7 shots between 1999 and 2004 to put him at a handicap of 13. That reduction affected his reputation, Talbot maintained, as did the words “handicap building," in other words, purposely playing below a golfer’s ability to gain an advantage and more generous stroke allowance, also known as "sandbagging."

Talbot lost the lawsuit when the judge found that the words “handicap building,” although defamatory, were not libelous because the certificate was not published to a third party. Talbot then said he was “forced to appeal” because he couldn’t afford what he said was a 500,000 euro (approximately $630,000) legal bill.

“I may have lost the fight, but I haven’t lost the battle,” Talbot told the Irish Independent in 2012.

But now, it seems he has. The appeal was seen by the High and Supreme Courts in Ireland over 83 days and was settled earlier this month over what the Supreme Court called a “simple matter.”

According to the Irish Times, Chief Justice Susan Denham “urged improved judicial management of cases” and better use of court resources. The court stuck with the initial ruling, stating that the general rule of “costs follow the event” -- the losing party pays the winning party -- applied to the case.

Read more: http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/irish-retiree-faces-630k-legal-bills-after-losing-lawsuit-over-handicap-dispute#ixzz3GyV1a7un

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The cost of sueing for libel - half of million euros?!! Damn.

I am assuming he knew he would have to fork up if he lost and has it covered. Or maybe he doesn't have it (don't know what this guy is worth) and maybe he sandbagged the lawyer into convincing he had the fees covered. Wow. Can't imagine how much money is involved in his competitions to warrant this kind of lawsuit.

Far cry from my weekend $5 game. Interesting read. Thanks for posting.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can't say I have a lot of sympathy for the guy.  Seems like an odd thing to sue over in the first place.  Especially in light of the fact that it (his sandbagging) was not publicly announced.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Can't say I have a lot of sympathy for the guy.  Seems like an odd thing to sue over in the first place.  Especially in light of the fact that it (his sandbagging) was not publicly announced.

Ironically, now it has been. :D

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ironically, now it has been. :D


Yes, but I seriously doubt if the whole thing stayed behind closed doors even though technically they didn't publish to a 3rd party. What did they do besides providing him the certificate? Ban him from competitions? If so, it's public. Can't just be: 'Here's your certificate that you cheated. Carry on.'

He seems to not have contested the 7.7 stroke 'adjustment' itself. I think he might be just trying to save face by grasping for a very expensive straw. In the pic seems to have a slight resemblance to Madoff.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

We need legislation that requires a losing party to pay the legal expenses of the winning part in the U.S. to minimize frivolous law suits.  Suing because you've been privately notified that you are a sandbagger is frivolous....especially when it's true.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't say I have a lot of sympathy for the guy.  Seems like an odd thing to sue over in the first place.  Especially in light of the fact that it (his sandbagging) was not publicly announced.

Ironically, now it has been. :D

Maybe Vijay is his adviser.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

i am more offended by his shirt/tie combo....

Man's got some style, he's rocking that combo.

Edit: I know he broke some pattern rules, but he did it his own way .

...I'm biased, I get most of my shirts from that side of the pond.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Man's got some style, he's rocking that combo.

Edit: I know he broke some pattern rules, but he did it his own way.

...I'm biased, I get most of my shirts from that side of the pond.

i get my shirts from over there too - http://www.ctshirts.com - but i know better than to combine those patterns...a nice paisley goes wonderfully with a checked shirt.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can't say I have a lot of sympathy for the guy.  Seems like an odd thing to sue over in the first place.  Especially in light of the fact that it (his sandbagging) was not publicly announced.

Well it seems word got around at his club and that's what he was butthurt about.  Funny stuff though, the guy is a douchebag for cheating. B-)

Link to post
Share on other sites

That guy plays in the sandbagging sweet spot...........he can play to a 13, but carries a 20!!    Those guys are tough to beat in net events!!!!!!   ...and he's just "high enough HC" that inflated scores aren't as easily noticed as bagging!    7 strokes is huge........

Link to post
Share on other sites

We need legislation that requires a losing party to pay the legal expenses of the winning part in the U.S. to minimize frivolous law suits.  Suing because you've been privately notified that you are a sandbagger is frivolous....especially when it's true.

This is already law for most suits that an average citizen might find himself involved in.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2318 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...