Jump to content
IGNORED

Hole-in-one? Or easy birdie? Would you count it?


Note: This thread is 2310 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. Hole-in-one? Or easy birdie? Would you count it?

    • Count it. That's an ace.
      3
    • Easy birdie, assuming I make the putt.
      22
    • I'd probably 3-putt.
      3


Recommended Posts

A hole in one plus a penalty stroke is still only a birdie.

But it's still a birdie. An ace with a penalty stroke. As for the incident when the opponent knocks it away in a match, the hole is WON but not counted as an ace. it still would be a birdie and a win, even if the opponent birdies the hole...

Yes I know ... I was the one who linked the rule earlier.  I was specifically referring to the second half of his comment only.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Birdie.  It has its own specific rule: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-3

You look for the decision under the rule that it applies to.  It's easiest to do it in the USGA Rules of golf online.  You can also do a search on the USGA website and it will usually direct you to th

The rules are interpreted differently for a ball that is just on the green as opposed to a ball overhanging the lip. Here is the general rule, which applies when the ball is on the green.

So into the realm of goofy scenarios -

the other guy gets up to the green and putts (the flag was left in, I don't know why as this is a goofy scenario) while you are just walking onto the green and his ball jars that one loose.  the ball is knocked in.

he was in a hurry, didn't see your stuck ball, you do as you walk on as you are on the other side.

how about now?  ace?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So into the realm of goofy scenarios -

the other guy gets up to the green and putts (the flag was left in, I don't know why as this is a goofy scenario) while you are just walking onto the green and his ball jars that one loose.  the ball is knocked in.

he was in a hurry, didn't see your stuck ball, you do as you walk on as you are on the other side.

how about now?  ace?

I don't see why that would be any different than if your ball was sitting 2 inches from the hole ... in which case you have to replace it.  Oh, and if he's putting from on the green, I believe that he gets a 2 stroke penalty.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

By rule, it's a birdie - IF he makes the putt.

Are you sure?  It looks like its entirely possible that after the hole is repaired and he goes to place it, it'll just fall into the hole.  In which case: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5 would apply, yes?

Since the decision says that the ball must be placed on the lip, that means placed at rest.  It's implied that the ball will then be tapped in to hole out.  If the ball won't stay at rest when placed, then it needs to be placed in a location where it will stay at rest.

The case that you quote is a different scenario where the ball is being placed on the spot from which it was lifted.

What if you go to tap it in and it doesn't move?

The forward movement of the club with the intent to strike the ball is a stroke.  It now lies two and you just blew your birdie chance.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rehmwa

So into the realm of goofy scenarios -

the other guy gets up to the green and putts (the flag was left in, I don't know why as this is a goofy scenario) while you are just walking onto the green and his ball jars that one loose.  the ball is knocked in.

he was in a hurry, didn't see your stuck ball, you do as you walk on as you are on the other side.

how about now?  ace?

I don't see why that would be any different than if your ball was sitting 2 inches from the hole ... in which case you have to replace it.  Oh, and if he's putting from on the green, I believe that he gets a 2 stroke penalty.

Yep!

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Since the decision says that the ball must be placed on the lip, that means placed at rest.  It's implied that the ball will then be tapped in to hole out.  If the ball won't stay at rest when placed, then it needs to be placed in a location where it will stay at rest.

The case that you quote is a different scenario where the ball is being placed on the spot from which it was lifted.

Ah, OK.  So the language is specific in saying to place it on the lip of the hole, as opposed to what I was assuming, which was that you'd place it in the exact vertical plane of where it's currently sitting.

Thanks!

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But it's still a birdie. An ace with a penalty stroke. As for the incident when the opponent knocks it away in a match, the hole is WON but not counted as an ace. it still would be a birdie and a win, even if the opponent birdies the hole...

I would count it as an ace. Not sure why a penalty stroke would be incurred unless it was because the original question said they were attempting to putt it in, in which case the ball moved after address. If they didn't address it, I don't see why a stroke would be incurred if the ace was allowed. You are allowed to lift clean and replace was close as possible to the original spot. no nearer the hole. To me that looks like it would be in the hole. Placing on the lip would be farther from the hole. I think the two decisions are in conflict. So what else is new in the world of the "Rules of Golf". Kind of like "Bizzaro World". :-D I'd expect a drink from the person making the ace, dammit!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you sure?  It looks like its entirely possible that after the hole is repaired and he goes to place it, it'll just fall into the hole.  In which case: [URL=http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5[/URL] would apply, yes?

What if while pulling the flag, the stick touches the ball and it falls in? Just curious.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Take your ace because everybody knows thats what it is regardless of any rule.Your shot plugged into the lip of the hole and after placing ball back after repairing the mark the ball will not stay up because most of it is over the hole.You shouldnt have to move your ball back from original spot until it stays put.Now if its in a tourny im not sure how that works.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Since the decision says that the ball must be placed on the lip, that means placed at rest.  It's implied that the ball will then be tapped in to hole out.  If the ball won't stay at rest when placed, then it needs to be placed in a location where it will stay at rest.

The case that you quote is a different scenario where the ball is being placed on the spot from which it was lifted.

Can you repair the lip of the hole before everyone has played out the hole? Or is it simply treated as a plugged green shot where the golfer is allowed to attempt repairs to the pitch mark?

Also, I wonder if anyone has missed that tap in birdie due to the emotional anguish of having just missed the ace? :-D

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1st, you got to stop the time from ticking since the ball has to fall in within 10 seconds.   Call Einstein, stop everyone's watches & smartphones from ticking, do something to stop the time.  Next, wait for earthquake, tilt the earth axis, stomp up and down in unison inches from the hole, generate some wind,do something to knock the ball in.

Or, how about photoshopping the picture to make it look like the ball is in the bottom of the hole?

Get the other players (eye witnesses) drunk so that they can't remember if the ball was in the hole or not.  Then, insist it was a hole in one when the subject comes up.

( You can probably tell that I never had a hole in one before ... )

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1st, you got to stop the time from ticking since the ball has to fall in within 10 seconds.   Call Einstein, stop everyone's watches & smartphones from ticking, do something to stop the time.  Next, wait for earthquake, tilt the earth axis, stomp up and down in unison inches from the hole, generate some wind,do something to knock the ball in. Or, how about photoshopping the picture to make it look like the ball is in the bottom of the hole? Get the other players (eye witnesses) drunk so that they can't remember if the ball was in the hole or not.  Then, insist it was a hole in one when the subject comes up. ( You can probably tell that I never had a hole in one before ... )

Or have you, Looked like a HIO to me :) or maybe I wad drunk

Link to post
Share on other sites

What if a thunderstorm comes along and dislodges the ball?[quote name="DrvFrShow" url="/t/79115/hole-in-one-or-easy-birdie-would-you-count-it#post_1093031"]Aside from hitting the ball away from the hole on purpose, has anyone putting toward the hole ever missed a putt where the ball is overhanging the lip of the hole? [/quote] I have. In fact twice on the same hole. On this par 4, I hit a drive that went into a hole in the first cut. I had to take a wedge and just hack it out. I then hit an iron to within 3 feet of the pin. I lipped out then putt. So I did a Hale Irwin on the 3 inch putt. Then I did it again.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post

What if you go to tap it in and it doesn't move?

Your foursome mocks you unmercifully for the rest of the round and on into the 19th hole for not marking and cleaning. :dance:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rehmwa View Post

So into the realm of goofy scenarios -

the other guy gets up to the green and putts (the flag was left in, I don't know why as this is a goofy scenario) while you are just walking onto the green and his ball jars that one loose.  the ball is knocked in.

he was in a hurry, didn't see your stuck ball, you do as you walk on as you are on the other side.

how about now?  ace?

Huh?  Under what rule?  A ball moved by another ball has to be replaced.  Rule 18-5 is pretty clear

Quote:

18-5 . By Another Ball

If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke , the moved ball must be replaced.

The real bottom line on this, IMO, is that anyone can write any number on the card.  But the ROG say it is a birdie.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wow can't believe it avoided the stick.

Because it didn't....?  I'm getting convinced the saying needs to change from "Fish Stories" to Golf Stories"........

then again when I hit my hole-in-one, it short-hop bounced, hit the flag stick and went down for an Ace!

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure if this has been asked yet - is there a time limit the ball can sit there? If you get to the green and it falls, is it an ace? What about when you pull the flag stick out assuming you don't touch the ball?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 2310 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I will be competing in a 4-club tournament in a few weeks. I'm leaning toward the following choices: 3-wood -- I usually hit it about 215 but I'm hoping to choke down and swing easier to hit it under 200 6-iron -- for all shots 90 yards to 160 sand wedge -- for all shots under 90 yards  putter -- I don't think I could putt with anything else. I personally think this should be required in order to protect the greens, but that is not the case.  Any thoughts on different or better choices?   
    • Day 510: Did some weight/pressure shot drills in my office at work without a club. Did more takeaway/backswing work at home, and hit some foam balls at slow speed incorporating backswing and weight/pressure shift elements. 
    • Day 77.  More wall drill, mostly with the wall and not with the club in my hand.    At one break I did grab a club and practice a slow backswing that felt like what I'm doing with the wall drill. 
    • I worked on coming in more "in to out" and worked on stopping my right shoulder firing away right at the start of the downswing - I finally fixed my coming-over-the-top issue. However by NOT coming over, I noticed that I'm now coming in way under the plane and I'm constantly hitting turf then ball. I was able to hit the ball somewhat when I came over the top because my clubhead at least was on plane by doing so. Now it's way under. What I don't understand is that if I'm keeping my shoulders and hands back from firing across while also shallowing the club, won't the clubhead always come in under the plane? The only way this wouldn't happen is if I steepen the shaft on the way down so the clubhead isn't stuck, but I heard that's a no-no... so I'm not sure how to proceed. (downswing at shaft parallel - orange line is the shaft lane)      
    • 9th hole.  Not an easy one for me, since it's a hard green for me to hit.  Last year I had an awesome chip in.  This time I actually hit the green and drained the putt (about 20 feet). Five done, 13 to go this year.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. dhen9
      dhen9
      (43 years old)
    2. Dormie1360
      Dormie1360
      (65 years old)
    3. GolferLee
      GolferLee
      (37 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...