Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
WatchOutLeft

Question on "Grounds under repair" or something like that

Note: This thread is 1589 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

21 posts / 3069 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I played a new course the weekend and my playing partner landed in an area on the fairway that was slightly dug out, over grown and had a light layer of coarse sand put over it at some point. It was completely out of place to how well the rest of the course was kept It wasn't marked as GUR but assumed it should have been so allowed him a free drop. Was this the correct thing to do or should I have made him play it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

I played a new course the weekend and my playing partner landed in an area on the fairway that was slightly dug out, over grown and had a light layer of coarse sand put over it at some point. It was completely out of place to how well the rest of the course was kept

It wasn't marked as GUR but assumed it should have been so allowed him a free drop. Was this the correct thing to do or should I have made him play it?

Ground under repair must be so marked or otherwise designated as such by the committee.  The player is not the judge of what is or is not abnormal ground.

If the committee is available they should be asked.  If not then in stroke play, the option is to play a second ball under rule 3-3 and take the question to the committee after the round.

In match play, the players make their decision and play on.  If the player doesn't agree with the decision he must make a claim prior to either player hitting from the next tee.
Then the claim must be taken to the committee.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ground under repair must be so marked marked or otherwise designated as such by the committee.  The player is not the judge of what is or is not abnormal ground.   If the committee is available they should be asked.  If not then in stroke play, the option is to play a second ball under rule 3-3 and take the question to the committee after the round.   In match play, the players make their decision and play on.  If the player doesn't agree with the decision he must make a claim prior to either player hitting from the next tee.   Then the claim must be taken to the committee.

It was only a friendly round so not too bothered if he should of had a penalty added but was curious as to whether it was the correct decision. If you were to look at it you'd say it was GUR all day long

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 1589 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...