Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
SoundandFury

Do you enter a score every single time you play?

Note: This thread is 1940 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. Do you enter your score for handicap every time you play?

    • Yes
      25
    • No
      17


161 posts / 7886 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

When you do hit multiple balls, even if only for a few holes, do you not post the score then?

I'm highly confused reading through this thread.  People keep talking about "practice" rounds which I assume means they are playing multiple balls or taking extra swings, which would disqualify such round for hc purposes.  So why are other's saying that those rounds should be posted?

Technically, as long as you play what 13 or 14 *can't remember for sure* holes by the rules you would use par+handicap for the holes you didn't play by the rules for posting the round in the handicap system. Or if you play the front 9 outside of the rules but the back nine by the rules you could probably post that back 9 score. I could be wrong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Technically, as long as you play what 13 or 14 *can't remember for sure* holes by the rules you would use par+handicap for the holes you didn't play by the rules for posting the round in the handicap system. Or if you play the front 9 outside of the rules but the back nine by the rules you could probably post that back 9 score. I could be wrong though.

gotcha, that makes sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


I am surprised that the majority of golfers that have replied to this poll do not play practice rounds where the score is meaningless.  It may be that using the word "round" implies following the USGA rules of golf to some, or many of you have some great practice facilities that simulate the different shots on your course.  Perhaps the answers would be different if we were asked if we practice on our golf course or do you enter every single non-practice score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by godswing

When you do hit multiple balls, even if only for a few holes, do you not post the score then?

I'm highly confused reading through this thread.  People keep talking about "practice" rounds which I assume means they are playing multiple balls or taking extra swings, which would disqualify such round for hc purposes.  So why are other's saying that those rounds should be posted?

Technically, as long as you play what 13 or 14 *can't remember for sure* holes by the rules you would use par+handicap for the holes you didn't play by the rules for posting the round in the handicap system. Or if you play the front 9 outside of the rules but the back nine by the rules you could probably post that back 9 score. I could be wrong though.


13 is the number.

9 hole scores need to be combined, with another 9 hole score as I recall.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 is the number.

9 hole scores need to be combined, with another 9 hole score as I recall.

I use the myscorecard website and it allows me to put in 9 hole rounds, then it automatically combines them into 18 hole rounds for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm looking at the USGA handicap manual.

For temporary greens:

5-1a/3. Returning Scores for Handicap Purposes While Playing on Temporary Greens or Tees

Q: May a club accept scores for handicap purposes if temporary greens or tees are being used?

A: Yes. If the Rules of Golf can be followed during the reconstruction period, scores should be posted. The club must contact its authorized golf association for advice regarding its specific situation. If a temporary green (not an alternate permanent green) is played, the recommendation of the authorized golf association may be for the club to advise players to post par plus any handicap strokes the player is entitled to receive on that hole.

In the UK, they don't accept scores for two or more temporary greens on the course. I looked at theirs.

What do you do when your course has 5 temporary greens and they put the greens in an area where you're a driver and chip shot and the temp green is puttable? The course has not been re-rated. Your score is going to be lower than it normally would be. I don't think the round should count as more than a practice round, but we're supposed to enter the score anyway. I guess they are telling us to take an auto three putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Back in the day when I kept a real HC, I entered them all. I'm retired now and my group pretty much plays at a fast pace so we have gimmes and pick up if out of a hole. It would be hard to keep a true HC the way we play. What I show on my bio is just an estimate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by mvmac

No, that's cheating. A vanity handicapper would be someone that only posts their good scores.

Yeah usually my practice on the course involves hitting multiple balls on the course. Either testing equipment or "testing" my swing. Like I said earlier, for me that practice on the course rarely goes 9 holes.

When you do hit multiple balls, even if only for a few holes, do you not post the score then?

I'm highly confused reading through this thread.  People keep talking about "practice" rounds which I assume means they are playing multiple balls or taking extra swings, which would disqualify such round for hc purposes.  So why are other's saying that those rounds should be posted?

Not sure if this is treated differently than simply missing the holes or not, I guess you could take handicap plus par instead of ESC?

I figured ESC because playing multiple balls is like declaring an unplayable with stroke and distance on each extra ball played, which will very quickly get you to ESC.

I am surprised that the majority of golfers that have replied to this poll do not play practice rounds where the score is meaningless.  It may be that using the word "round" implies following the USGA rules of golf to some, or many of you have some great practice facilities that simulate the different shots on your course.  Perhaps the answers would be different if we were asked if we practice on our golf course or do you enter every single non-practice score.

Shhh, just don't say anything about playing practice rounds on the forum. :whistle:

Just kidding, I'm planning on posting every round played from now on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

When you do hit multiple balls, even if only for a few holes, do you not post the score then?

You can't post a score for 4-6 holes. I might also hit a drive and then hit my second shots from a different spot from where I drove it. The point is to practice hitting certain shots on the course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by rkim291968

13 is the number.

9 hole scores need to be combined, with another 9 hole score as I recall.

I use the myscorecard website and it allows me to put in 9 hole rounds, then it automatically combines them into 18 hole rounds for me.

So, do many of the posting computers for different clubs. Golflogix does that as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


Went to the range this morning just to practice and ended up getting roped into playing 9 holes.  Had taken my dad's old '70s persimmon just for kicks and left my D3 in the car.  Ended up shooting 37, and after this thread, ran as fast as I could to enter my score.  Now my handicap is treading lower, right in time for a tournament this weekend.

I hate you all :doh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something that I don't recall seeing in this thread is that I believe that if you are hitting extra balls the round should not be posted because it is not a true representation of your score.   If you are hitting several shots to work on something in your game, you gain an advantage because you have extra swings and should, in theory, be better prepared for the shots that do count towards your score later in the round.   And I don't think that's right to post a score with that many extra swings.

The irony is, that if those extra swings help you, you are posting a score that it lower than what you would have anyway.  And that hurts you for handicap purposes, not helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Went to the range this morning just to practice and ended up getting roped into playing 9 holes.  Had taken my dad's old '70s persimmon just for kicks and left my D3 in the car.  Ended up shooting 37, and after this thread, ran as fast as I could to enter my score.  Now my handicap is treading lower, right in time for a tournament this weekend.

I hate you all

This forum combines my love of helping people with my love of hurting people.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Went to the range this morning just to practice and ended up getting roped into playing 9 holes.  Had taken my dad's old '70s persimmon just for kicks and left my D3 in the car.  Ended up shooting 37, and after this thread, ran as fast as I could to enter my score.  Now my handicap is treading lower, right in time for a tournament this weekend.


Sounds like persimmon agrees with you. :beer:

Just take those clubs for the tournaments and forget the D3. :smartass:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sounds like persimmon agrees with you.

Just take those clubs for the tournaments and forget the D3.


Dude, I'm actually shocked how good that club is when hit well.  Expected it to be significantly shorter and impossible to hit.  It's shorter, but only by 10-15 yards; launches with a much more piercing flight and rolls for miles.  Plus, it sounds/feels awesome at impact.  Sucks on even slight mishits though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can't post a score for 4-6 holes. I might also hit a drive and then hit my second shots from a different spot from where I drove it. The point is to practice hitting certain shots on the course.

Ah, I thought you meant you would practice on a few holes during a full round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Went to the range this morning just to practice and ended up getting roped into playing 9 holes.  Had taken my dad's old '70s persimmon just for kicks and left my D3 in the car.  Ended up shooting 37, and after this thread, ran as fast as I could to enter my score.  Now my handicap is treading lower, right in time for a tournament this weekend.

I hate you all

Haha oops

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Went to the range this morning just to practice and ended up getting roped into playing 9 holes.  Had taken my dad's old '70s persimmon just for kicks and left my D3 in the car.  Ended up shooting 37, and after this thread, ran as fast as I could to enter my score.  Now my handicap is treading lower, right in time for a tournament this weekend.

I hate you all

Hey, I still have my old Cleveland Classic, it might be a RC75.  Maybe I should dig through the closet to find it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1940 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Yeah, I can see that. And you very well may be right. That's why this can be a difficult thing to do, especially with photos over the web. To my eye I thought I saw some almost greenish tint buried under that stain. That is very much a characteristic of birch. Birch is often used to imitate a lot of other woods. It's pours are almost as tight as maple, its patterns can be as pronounced as mahogany. It can do a good job blending in a lot of places for a ton less money. The one thing it can not do is imitate the hardness of maple or mahogany. @saevel25 could conceivably do a hardness test on it. Basically a ball bearing is pressed into the wood at a certain pressure and then based on the depth it sinks you'd look that up on a Janka scale. Hard Maple is about 1 and 1/2 times harder than birch. Mahogany is about 2 -1/2 times harder.  The other thing about birch is as the stain starts to wear often the green tint that is so often running though the wood will start to show. It won't be consistent many strands will have more green than others. This can be reduced or eliminated with dye before staining. A lot of folks won't go that extra mile. Having said that, I really think we are looking a pretty custom job here. These do not look like any factory built drawers I've ever seen. So, in reality its very hard to say what the craftsman did here.  So again, if you held a gun to my head I'd guess birch. But if you told me it turned out to be maple (especially soft maple, aka fast growing maple), mahogany, or possibly even a nut tree like pecan, I'd have to believe it.  I had to study a lot of cabinetry to make my cover story believable. 
    • Day 26: Rainy day again. Today I just spent 10 minutes on the feel for my new priority piece.
    • Day 7 Worked on the first 3 COVID Drills.  I'm beating these to death until they feel natural and I do not need to think about them.
    • lol. everything is sensitive these days. I put a line on the ball because it makes it easier to identify in the woods. "Yeah, that one's mine." I don't use it on the green because i can't line up the line very well. We all have our little methods of lining up putts.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Axel Gebwut
      Axel Gebwut
      (62 years old)
    2. chspeed
      chspeed
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...